No Event
No Event
Sat Mar 04
Final
17 Denison
2 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
1 Manchester
14 vs. Denison
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
11 Denison
1 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
5 vs. Arcadia
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NPHS)
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
6 vs. Susquehanna
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #6)
Mon Mar 13
Final
2 Amherst
12 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Tue Mar 14
Final
5 SUNY-Canton
7 vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, FL in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 15
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Mount St. Mary
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Fri Mar 17
Final
10 Nichols
7 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Sat Mar 18
Final
2 #25 North Central (Ill.)
13 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Thu Mar 23
Final
1 John Carroll
14 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 24
Final
11 Denison
3 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Sun Mar 26
1:00 PM
Heidelberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 28
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
12:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
12:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 04
4:00 PM
Denison
at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
12:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
1:00 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 14
3:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
3:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 19
6:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
12:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
12:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
4:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
12:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
12:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Colgain pitches DU to split

Kyle Colgain allowed only 2 hits in 5 innings in game two vs. JCU.
Kyle Colgain allowed only 2 hits in 5 innings in game two vs. JCU.

Denison hurlers Kyle Colgain, Connor Hanrahan, and Ryan Mulligan combined for a complete game 4-hitter as Denison captured game two over John Carroll, 3-0, to earn a doubleheader split on Sunday afternoon in Granville.

After suffering an 8-1 loss in the opening game, Colgain would go on to even his record to 4-4 by pitching five innings.  The junior scattered two hits and walked three while striking out four.  Hanrahan relieved Colgain in the sixth and would pitch one and a third, allowing just one hit.

With one out and a runner on first base in the top of the seventh, Mulligan left his regular short stop position and entered the game where he would record the final two outs for his team-leading third save of the season.

DU scored one run in the first when Charlie Apfelbach scored after Andrew Touhy grounded into a double play.  In the second, Nick Marsit and Lascelles Lagares led off the inning with walks.  Zac Lewinski would sacrifice the pair to second and third base.  Marsit would go on to score the game's second run via an Evan Flax sacrifice fly.

The Big Red would tack on an insurance run in the bottom of the fifth when Duncan Moran's RBI single plated Touhy.

Apfelbach and Moran both had two hits for Denison in game two.  John Carroll starter Jimmy Spagna was charged with the loss.  He walked five but did not surrender a hit in 1.2 innings pitched.

In game one, Denison starter Connor Murphy was touched up for seven hits and five earned runs in three innings pitched.  Murphy, who had given up just three earned runs in his 29.1 innings pitched this month wasn't as sharp this afternoon.  Charlie Binford pitched the final four innings in relief of Murphy.  He did not allow an earned run while giving up five hits.

The Denison offense pieced together six hits, as Touhy drove in Denison's lone run with a base hit in the first inning.

John Carroll's Andrew Doring went the distance to improve to 2-2 on the year.  He struck out seven and walked just one in seven innings pitched.

Denison's record moves to 18-16 while John Carroll's moves to 19-14.  Denison will return to action on Monday (April 28) when they travel to Berea, Ohio for a 9-inning game with Baldwin Wallace that is scheduled to begin at 5 p.m.