Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Mar 03
Final
10 Denison
11 at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, VA in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
9 Denison
0 at Hampden-Sydney
in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
Final
5 Denison
1 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sat Mar 10
Final
3 Denison
0 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
Final
3 Capital
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
12 Adrian
9 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
0 Amherst
4 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
18 #6 Wooster
1 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Mon Mar 19
Final
20 Denison
4 vs. #4 North Central (Ill.)
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
Final
7 Plymouth St.
5 vs. Denison
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
7 vs. #21 Johns Hopkins
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
12 vs. St. Lawrence
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
3 vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Postponed
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 28
Final
3 Otterbein
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
15 Denison
11 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final - 10 innings
6 Denison
7 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Thu Apr 05
Final
7 #25 Baldwin Wallace
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
5 Denison
3 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Wed Apr 11
Final
3 DePauw
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
9 DePauw
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Hiram
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
4 Hiram
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Postponed
Denison
at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final - 10 innings
10 Denison
9 at #14 Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
Postponed
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
3 Kenyon
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
9 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Apr 26
Final
4 #20 Marietta
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
4:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
1:00 PM
Denison
at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 02
12:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
3:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat May 05
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat May 05
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Offense ignites in dominant win over #4 North Central

Sam Frazen  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Sam Frazen | Photo by Jace Delgado

PORT CHARLOTTE, Fla. – Thanks to seven runs in the third and three long balls on the day, Denison baseball powered their way past fourth-ranked North Central College, 20-4, on Monday afternoon in Port Charlotte, Fla.

Recording 23 hits on the day, the Denison offense took control with eight runs in the first three innings and gave senior starter Perley Provost an early lead to work with. In six innings on the hill, the right-hander kept the slate clean with no runs on eight hits and four strikeouts, earning his second win of the season.

After an RBI single from Brian McAuliffe gave the Big Red a 1-0 lead in the second, the Denison bats came to life in the third with runners on first and second with one out. Back-to-back doubles from Will Krushena and Tanner Johnson plated three more runs for DU and added another when Johnson scored on a wild pitch.

The inning continued when a home run to left from senior Jack Blanchard put the Big Red up 6-0, and following a Sam Frazen single and a strikeout from McAuliffe, sophomore Vince Walker pounded the team's second home run of the day to take an 8-0 advantage and chase North Central starter Blake Kons heading into the fourth.

Now facing the Cardinals' junior relief pitcher Colton West in the top of the fourth, the Big Red offense didn't take any time off. With two runners on and one out, Johnson laced his second double of the game, bringing Nick Pettigrew home from second and sending Grady Paine to third.

Following a pop out to first from Blanchard, Frazen cleared the bases with a three-run home run over the left field wall, sending the Denison lead to double-digits, 12-0, with four innings in the books.

Over the next three innings of play, Provost stayed locked in for the Big Red as he tallied three strikeouts from the fourth through sixth innings and added another three outs on the ground.

The Cardinals tried to chip away at Denison's 17-0 lead in the bottom of the eighth, posting four runs in the inning, but a two-RBI single from freshman Max Lahn helped the Big Red add three more runs in the ninth inning as they secured their largest victory of the season, and their most runs scored since a 22-10 win at Ohio Wesleyan on April 30, 2017.

Krushena and Blanchard paced the DU offense as they both went 3-for-5 on the day, while Johnson went 2-for-5 with two runs scored and three RBI's. Frazen also totaled an impressive day at the plate with three RBI's on three hits and two runs scored.

The Big Red will now travel to Ft. Myers, Fla. as they prepared for a matchup with Plymouth State University on Wednesday, March 21 at the Gene Cusic Classic. First pitch is scheduled for 12 p.m.