Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Transylvania
2 Denison
in Danville, Ky.
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
2 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 09
Final
4 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 Washington and Lee
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Sep 15
Final
0 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 21
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final - OT
3 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Sep 27
Final
1 Denison
0 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 30
Final
0 Rhodes
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final - OT
2 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 10
Final
1 Wooster
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 13
Final
10 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Oct 19
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wittenberg
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
Final
0 Earlham
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
0 Kenyon
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final
0 DePauw
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 04
Final
1 Wittenberg
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed Nov 08
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va. - NCAA Tournament
View Full Schedule

DePauw leaves Granville with 2-0 victory

Lucy Pearsall
Lucy Pearsall

DePauw made the most of their limited opportunities and despite attempting only four shots, the Tigers left Piper Stadium with a 2-0 victory over Denison.

The Big Red entered the game riding a six-game winning streak.  The Tigers brought their own seven-game winning streak into the contest.  Things were looking good early on for DU as the ball spent a majority of the first half on Denison's half of the field.

In the 11th minute, Denison's Melissa Hoey took a shot from close range that was saved by DePauw fullback, Sofia Caretero.  Seven minutes later, Lucy Pearsall and Abby Martone took shots that had to be saved by Tiger goalie Sarah Foye.

In the second half, Denison attempted a penalty corner and after a false start infraction on DePauw, the Big Red took the corner against four Tiger defenders.  On that attempt, Pearsall's shot attempt went just wide of the cage.

The Tigers broke through in the 54th minute when Maddy Burds pass was deflected into the goal by Kate Milner for her ninth goal of the season.

With 10 minutes to play, Denison had another strong scoring opportunity on a two-on-one fast break.  The Big Red failed to take a shot, but a foul on DePauw awarded the Big Red with a penalty corner. 

DePauw successfully cleared the ball off the corner attempt and four minutes later, Paige Berliner gave her squad a 2-0 lead with her 16th goal of the season.

Denison held a 10-4 advantage in shots.  They also out-cornered the Tigers, 7-3.  Sarah Foye posted four saves for DePauw in 70 minutes of action.

The Tigers remain in first place in the North Coast Athletic Conference with the victory as they improve to 14-3 overall and 11-1 in the NCAC.  Denison drops to 12-4 and 9-3 in league play.

Taking the Ball and Running
December 14, 2016 Taking the Ball and Running
Field Hockey blanks Wooster
October 5, 2016 Field Hockey blanks Wooster
Denison runs past Quakers
September 23, 2016 Denison runs past Quakers
Denison cruises past Concordia
September 17, 2016 Denison cruises past Concordia
Field hockey shuts out Oberlin
September 10, 2016 Field hockey shuts out Oberlin
Denison routs Hendrix, 7-3
September 4, 2016 Denison routs Hendrix, 7-3