No Event
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Transylvania
2 Denison
in Danville, Ky.
Sun Sep 03
Final
0 Denison
2 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 09
Final
4 DePauw
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 Washington and Lee
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Sep 15
Final
0 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 21
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final - OT
3 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Sep 27
Final
1 Denison
0 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Sep 30
Final
0 Rhodes
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final - OT
2 Denison
1 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 10
Final
1 Wooster
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 13
Final
10 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Oct 19
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
12:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 25
5:00 PM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
11:00 AM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red impress with shutout at Ohio Wesleyan

Charlotte Happel  |  Photo by: Jace Delgado
Charlotte Happel | Photo by: Jace Delgado

DELAWARE, Ohio – A goal from sophomore Charlotte Happel in the 16th minute opened the offensive output for the Big Red as Denison shutout Ohio Wesleyan University 2-0 on Thursday afternoon in Delaware.

Outshooting the Battling Bishops 35-3, the Big Red were led by Happel and freshman Charlotte Godfrey who combined for both Denison goals and 13 total shots.

In the 16th minute, Happel ran up the middle of the field and finished in the left side of the cage for her second goal of the season and Denison's first of the match. The Big Red outshot Ohio Wesleyan 15-1 in the first half and carried their 1-0 lead into intermission.

Denison extended their lead in the 51st minute when a long pass from Ali Gakenheimer was redirected off the stick of Godfrey for her first goal of the season and gave the Big Red a 2-0 advantage in the second half.

Freshman goalkeeper Teya Adams totaled her second-straight shutout for DU as she moved her record to 2-1 on the season. On the opposite side of the field, Ohio Wesleyan's Paige Ross finished the day with 11 saves in a full 70 minutes of action.

In their last four matches, the Big Red have outshot their opponents 121-10 with eight goals scored and have posted a record of 3-1 during that time.

Denison will stay on the road this Saturday, Sept. 23 when they travel to Springfield, Ohio to take on Wittenberg University for a scheduled 11 a.m. start.