Tue Nov 15
7:00 PM
Washington & Jefferson
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 22
7:00 PM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Wed Nov 30
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Mon Jan 02
6:00 PM
Denison
at Brooklyn
in Brooklyn, N.Y.
Tue Jan 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Mount Saint Vincent
in Riverdale, N.Y.
Thu Jan 05
7:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 14
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 18
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
6:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red splits series with Kenyon

Brad Woolard scored 14 points and grabbed 6 rebounds in DU's win over Kenyon.
Brad Woolard scored 14 points and grabbed 6 rebounds in DU's win over Kenyon.

Denison rallied from a late deficit to pick up a 75-68 win over North Coast Athletic Conference rival Kenyon on Wednesday night from the Tomsich Arena in Gambier, Ohio.

With the score tied at 4-4 early in the contest, the Big Red went on a 14-0 run that was highlighted by three 3-pointers from sophomore Darius White.  The Lords responded with a 14-5 run to shrink the gap to five, but another late burst sent Denison into the locker room with a 32-22 lead.

Trailing by 12 early in the second half, Kenyon engineered a 24-11 run to take its first lead of the game at 48-47 midway through the period.  DU quickly regained the lead with a David Meurer layup.  Now down 53-51, the home team rattled off nine of the next 10 points to build a six-point lead with 5:50 remaining in regulation.

Sophomore Patrick Keller broke up the Denison scoring drought with a pair of free throws with 4:22 to play. On the ensuing possession, junior Briggs King forced a Julian Pavlin turnover over to give the Big Red another quick possession. After working through its offense, senior Alex Longi found King who buried a three to trim the deficit to one.

After holding the Lords to one attempt on their next trip down the floor, Longi converted down low to regain the lead. King continued the momentum swing with back-to-back triples on two-straight possessions to extended DU's lead to 67-60.

Kenyon cut the deficit to four with 93 seconds on the clock, but an 8-for-10 performance at the charity stripe over the final 40 seconds secured the Big Red victory.  Down the stretch, Meurer went a perfect 6-for-6 at the foul line.

Meurer and Longi co-led Denison with 18 points apiece.  Meurer went 3-for-6 from the field and 12-for-13 at the free throw line in 29 minutes.  Longi was 6-for-12 from the floor and connected on 6-of-8 attempts at the stripe.  The senior also grabbed seven boards and dished out five assists.  Brad Woolard finished the night with 14 points and six rebounds, while King logged nine points and a team-best 10 rebounds.

Ikenna Nwadibia paced the Lords with 18 points, while Brian Lebowitz logged a double-double with 16 points and 13 rebounds.  Pavlin also chipped in 12 points in 31 minutes.

Denison converted 42 percent (21-for-50) from the field, while Kenyon went 27-for-69 (39.1 percent) from the floor.  The Big Red also converted 76.5 percent (26-for-34) at the foul line and scored 18 points off turnovers.

With the win, the Big Red moves to 11-11 overall and 7-8 in the North Coast Athletic Conference, while Kenyon falls to 10-12 and 7-8 in league play. Denison returns to action this Saturday when they host Wabash on Senior Day.  Tip-off from Livingston Gymnasium is slated for 3 p.m.

Late surge sinks Denison
February 19, 2014 Late surge sinks Denison
DU dominates on Senior Day
February 15, 2014 DU dominates on Senior Day
Men fall to ranked DePauw
January 29, 2014 Men fall to ranked DePauw
Late run powers DU to win
January 18, 2014 Late run powers DU to win
Lords put Big Red on ice
January 15, 2014 Lords put Big Red on ice
Big Red overpowers Yeomen
January 8, 2014 Big Red overpowers Yeomen
Marietta spoils home opener
November 23, 2013 Marietta spoils home opener
DU drops season opener at W&J
November 20, 2013 DU drops season opener at W&J