Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red stumbles at Wabash

Andrew Castagnetti scored 8 points in 18 minutes off the bench at Wabash.
Andrew Castagnetti scored 8 points in 18 minutes off the bench at Wabash.

Daniel Purvlicis and Johnny Jager combined for 48 points to lead the Wabash Little Giants past Denison on Saturday afternoon from Crawfordsville, Ind.

The Big Red led by as many as four early in the contest, but an 18-4 run gave Wabash a lead they would not relinquish. Denison kept it a single-digit deficit until a 21-12 burst to close out the period gave the Little Giants a 45-33 lead at the intermission. The home team converted a blistering 68 percent (17-for-25) from the field in the first half, including a 6-for-9 (66.7 percent) performance from 3-point range.

Sophomore Max Siwik was able to shrink the deficit to 55-44 with a 3-pointer at 12:51, but Wabash used an 11-0 run to open up a 22-point lead. The Big Red engineered their own 11-0 run late in the game to make it a 72-62 contest with 1:54 to play, but the margin proved to be too much to overcome as the Little Giants held on for a 14-point win.

Wabash cooled off slightly in the second half, but still made 52-percent (13-for-25) of their shots as they finished with a 60-percent conversion rate from the floor. Denison shot 40 percent (25-for-62) from the floor, which included 11 3-pointers. Wabash outrebounded the Big Red, 36-29, and held a 36-20 advantage in the paint.

David Meurer paced the DU offense with 23 points on 10-of-22 from the floor. He also dished out four assists and had two steals in 29 minutes. Jett Speelman finished with 14 points and two assists, while Matthew Bauer added 11 points and a team-high eight rebounds. Andrew Castagnetti provided eight points off the bench, while Garrett Collier came away with three steals.

Purvlicis led all scorers with 27 points to go along with four rebounds and three blocks, while Jager had 21 tallies and five assists. Austin Burton also chipped in 16 points, while Evan Frank, Duncan Roy and Logan White had six rebounds each.

Denison falls to 7-6 overall, while Wabash improves to 8-5. Both teams are now 2-4 in NCAC play. The Big Red returns to action on Wednesday when they host conference rival Kenyon. Tip-off from Livingston Gymnasium is slated for 8 p.m.

Speelman receives NCAC honor
February 2, 2016 Speelman receives NCAC honor
Big Red stumbles at Wabash
January 9, 2016 Big Red stumbles at Wabash
Denison tops Case, 80-79
November 24, 2015 Denison tops Case, 80-79