Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison blasts Hiram via 18-0 run

Jett Speelman scored 26 points in Denison's win over Hiram.
Jett Speelman scored 26 points in Denison's win over Hiram.

Powered by an impressive 18-0 run in the waning minutes of the second half, Denison pulled away from Hiram for a 77-61 win at Price Gymnasium.

With the Big Red trailing 57-54 with just under seven minutes to play Andrew Castagnetti would connect on a transition 3-pointer from the corner to tie the game at 57-57 with 6:42 to play. 

Over the next two minutes, DU junior Jett Speelman would score the next seven points in the game to give the Big Red its largest lead since the opening minutes of the first half.

After a quick miss by Hiram's Ray Gaston, Denison's David Meurer would drill a 3-pointer with 4:25 remaining, putting the Big Red up 10.  Meurer wouldn't stop there.  He would force a steal at midcourt and converted the layup at the other end.

Feeling the game slipping away, Hiram would come up empty on its next offensive possession and Speelman was there with the knockout blow, a 3-pointer from the wing that put his squad up 15 with 3:39 to play.

The Terriers would end the drought with a pair of Paul Ortiz free throws with 2:49 remaining, but Patrick Keller would come right back with Denison's eighth 3-pointer of the night.

Overall, Denison would close out the final 7:17 on a 23-4 run.

This was a game of runs and luckily for the Big Red they had the final say.  In the first half, it was the Terriers who went on a 15-1 run to take a 25-19 lead with five minutes to play in the opening stanza.  The Big Red would chip away and trail 34-32 at the half.

Speelman led all scorers with 26 points.  He was 7-of-12 from the field and 9-of-10 from the free throw line.  Speelman leads the North Coast Athletic Conference in free throw percentage at .895 (68-of-76).

Meurer followed with 11 points in 25 minutes of action while Devon Pitts paced the Big Red with 10 rebounds.  DU shot 43 percent (26-of-60) and were 6-of-10 from beyond the arc in the second half.

Meanwhile, Hiram was held to 28 percent shooting in the second half and were 36 percent for the game.  Ortiz led the Terriers with 16 points and Austen Rekolt finished with 10 points.  Kelvin Jones led all players with 12 rebounds.

Hiram entered the game in third place in the NCAC standings. With the loss, they drop to 11-5 and 5-4 in conference play.  Denison improves to 9-7 and is 4-5 in the NCAC.  The Big Red will return to action on Saturday when they travel to No. 7 Ohio Wesleyan.  The Battling Bishops are off to a 15-1 start to the season.  Their only loss came at Hiram on Dec. 12.

Speelman receives NCAC honor
February 2, 2016 Speelman receives NCAC honor
Big Red stumbles at Wabash
January 9, 2016 Big Red stumbles at Wabash
Denison tops Case, 80-79
November 24, 2015 Denison tops Case, 80-79