Wed Nov 15
Final
69 Otterbein
76 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
90 Denison
70 vs. #23 Cabrini
@ Fredericksburg, Va. in Fredericksburg, Va
Sun Nov 19
Final
57 Denison
70 at Mary Washington
in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Nov 21
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Dec 12
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 20
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Dec 31
2:00 PM
Chicago
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
8:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa
Wed Jan 10
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
Crawfordsville, Ind
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
8:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
8:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Wooster spoils DU's upset bid

Garrett Collier scored 13 points with 3 assists against the Fighting Scots.
Garrett Collier scored 13 points with 3 assists against the Fighting Scots.

Denison led for a majority of the second half, but an 11-3 run by Wooster over the final 3:05 led the Fighting Scots to an 82-75 win over the Big Red.

The Big Red led by as many as 12 points with 15:11 to play but the Scots started chipping away due in large to the play of Wooster freshman Reece Dupler who scored six of his game-high 18 points over a critical three-minute stretch in the second half where Wooster cut the Denison lead down to two with 7:10 left.

After a Dupler jumper, Denison came right back with a 3-pointer from Andrew Castagnetti but that was answered by Wooster's Spencer Williams eight seconds later, taking the air out of a large crowd of 1,150 inside Livingston Gymnasium.

Denison made their hay at the free throw line all afternoon, going 26-of-28 for the game and after two Jett Speelman free throws with 3:20 left the Big Red held a 72-69 lead.  On Wooster's next possession, Mitch Balser found Reece Dupler on a nice backdoor cut to cut the Denison advantage to one.

Denison tried to force the ball inside to Speelman only to have it stolen by Balser on their next trip down the floor.  Balser got out in transition and find Williams who nailed the pull-up mid-rage jumper that gave Wooster its first lead at 73-72 since there was 4:16 left in the first half.

Things got worse for Denison after a missed 3-pointer by David Meurer allowed the Scots to get back quickly on offense.  Balser followed with the shot of the game, a triple from the elbow that put Wooster on top 76-72.

Trailing by four, Denison missed its next five shots from the field, allowing the Fighting Scots to put the game away for good.

Duepler scored 18 points and was 9-of-11 from the field to lead Wooster.  Five players reached double-figures for the Scots as Williams and Milt Davis finished with 14.  Dan Fanelly battled foul trouble through much of the game but still scored 12 points in only 17 minutes.  Balser finished with 11 points and six assists.

Denison was led by Speelman who finished with 16 points.  He was 10-for-10 from the free throw line and 2-of-4 from 3-point range.  Garrett Collier and Matthew Bauer each scored 13.  Bauer was 5-for-5 and also added four rebounds.

Wooster shot 59 percent from the field for the game thanks to going 17-for-26 (.654) in the second half.  Denison shot 39 percent (20-for-52), but 11 offensive rebounds helped DU hang tough.

With the loss, Denison falls to 12-9 overall and 7-7 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.  Wooster improves to 16-5 and they are 12-2 in conference play.  The Big Red has four regular season conference games remaining on its schedule.  They will enter the home stretch on Wednesday night when they travel to Kenyon for an 8 p.m. tip-off against the Lords.

Speelman receives NCAC honor
February 2, 2016 Speelman receives NCAC honor
Big Red stumbles at Wabash
January 9, 2016 Big Red stumbles at Wabash
Denison tops Case, 80-79
November 24, 2015 Denison tops Case, 80-79