Sat Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 10
Final
0 Denison
7 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
Final
3 Denison
6 at Findlay
in Findlay, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
9 #5 Chicago
0 vs. #33 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
3 #35 Denison
6 at #19 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 vs. Occidental
@ Scholl Canyon Tennis Club in Glendale, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
Final
4 #35 Denison
5 at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #34 Denison
9 vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 21
Final
6 #34 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
4:30 PM
#31 Lewis & Clark
#34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
11:00 AM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
6:00 PM
Denison
at Cleveland St.
in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
5:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
11:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Six garner All-NCAC accolades

Tom Cawood (L) and Tim Martin (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.
Tom Cawood (L) and Tim Martin (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.

The Denison men's tennis team landed six on the 2012 All-North Coast Athletic Conference squad.  Seniors Tom Cawood and Matt McErlean earned first and second-team honors, respectively, while Juan Guerra, Tyler Cempre and Casey Cempre all received honorable mention laurels.

Cawood finished the year with an 18-4 singles record, including a 14-3 mark at the first flight.  In two years at the top flight, the senior has compiled a 28-8 record.  He currently has 53 singles wins which ranks him seventh all-time in school history.  This year marks Cawood's third-straight All-NCAC certificate, and second first-team honor.

McErlean went 8-8 at No. 2 doubles en route to his third-consecutive all-conference award.  The two-time first-team selection went 10-9 on the year, and posted a 2-1 record in NCAC action.  The senior currently ranks sixth all-time with 54 career singles wins.

Guerra, a first-team all-conference choice last season, went 12-5 overall and posted a combined 10-4 record at four different singles flights.  The sophomore went 6-4 at the third flight, where he played the majority of his matches.  Tyler Cempre went 13-2 on the year, including a 12-1 mark over the third, fourth and fifth singles flights, while Casey Cempre posted a 15-8 record during his first year in Granville.

In doubles play, the teams of McErlean and Tyler Cempre, and Cawood and senior Tim Martin both earned first-team recognition.  McErlean and Cempre went 18-5 on the season, including a 13-4 mark at the top doubles flight.  Both seniors finished in the top-7 on DU's all-time doubles wins list.  McErlean sits second with 65 victories, while Cempre's 60 ranks tied for seventh.

Cawood and Martin rattled off 12-straight win en route to a 12-2 record in 2012. Thirteen of the duo's 14 matches were at the second flight.  In addition, Martin ends his four-year career as Denison's all-time leader in doubles victories with 70.  The senior broke Cole Newman's record of 64 victories on April 12 in an 8-4 victory over Kenyon's Tim Rosensteel and CJ Williams.