No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
1:00 PM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
6:00 PM
Mount Union
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Columbus, Ohio in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Late free throws help Big Red extend streak to six

Gabby Nottage

Denison went 10-for-12 at the free throw line over the final 1:19 to secure a 76-62 North Coast Athletic Conference victory over Allegheny on Saturday afternoon in Granville. The Big Red has now won 11 of their last 12 games, including a season-high six straight.

After leading for the first 15 minutes of the contest, Denison saw their 10-point lead disappear thanks to a 12-2 run by Allegheny to open the second quarter. The Gators grabbed their first lead of the game when Jazmen Moore converted a layup at 5:24. Allegheny eventually took a 32-31 advantage into the lockeroom. Neither team led by more than four points in the third stanza. After 11 lead changes during that 10-minute span, it was a short-range jumper by junior Jordan Holmes that gave the Big Red a 52-51 edge heading into the final frame.

Trailing by one early in the fourth, DU rattled off seven-straight to regain a two-score lead. Holmes put the Big Red back in front from by one, before a Kellie Arter triple extended the lead. Akilah Fletcher capped off the offensive burst with a jumper in the paint off an assist from Gabrielle Nottage.

The Gators closed the deficit back to three, but another Holmes bucket with 1:31 to play made it a two-possession game once again. Nottage pushed the game out of reach with a 5-for-6 showing at the line down the stretch, while Valesha Province and Fletcher each went 2-for-2. Holmes set the final score with a free throw with 0.3 seconds on the clock.

Denison shot a season-best 53 percent (27-for-51) from the field, which included a 70 percent conversion rate (16-for-23) in the second half. DU went 7-for-13 (54 percent) from the 3-point range and 15-for-20 (75 percent) from the charity stripe. The Gators converted just 30 percent (22-for-73) from the floor, which included a 3-for-19 (16 percent) performance from long range. The Big Red also held a 47-34 advantage on the glass.

Holmes nearly recorded her sixth-career triple-double after posting 16 points, 15 rebounds and nine blocks to go along with a season-high four assists. Those nine blocks moved Holmes past Erin McKenzie of Hendrix (2003-06) and into fourth place on the NCAA Division III career blocks list with 412.

Nottage also chipped in 16 points after going 4-for-7 from the field, including three 3-pointers, and 5-of-6 at the foul line. Arter's 15 tallies came on a 6-for-7 performance from the floor, while Fletcher had 10 points and six rebounds off the bench. Junior Erica Holmes co-led the team with four assists and had two steals.

Candaisy Crawford led the Gators in scoring with 13 points, while Ifeyinwa Uwazie grabbed eight rebounds. Emma Pellicano also chipped in seven boards and three assists.

Denison improves to 13-3 on the year and 6-1 in the NCAC, while Allegheny falls to 8-8 and 3-4 in the conference. The Big Red returns to action on Wednesday when they travel to Hiram for a 6 p.m. tip-off.

Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
February 23, 2016 Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
December 8, 2015 Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
Holmes is named NCAC POW
November 17, 2015 Holmes is named NCAC POW
Denison tops Case in opener
November 13, 2015 Denison tops Case in opener