Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
Final
72 Denison
49 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
Final
62 Denison
69 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
Final
63 Franklin
71 vs. Denison
@ The Capital Center (Columbus, Ohio) in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
63 Denison
55 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
73 Denison
67 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
Final
62 DePauw
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
Final
46 Denison
59 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
Final
62 Oberlin
53 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
Final
44 Kenyon
38 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
Final - OT
62 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
Final
33 Ohio Wesleyan
65 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
Final
52 Wooster
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
Final
43 Denison
75 at #7 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
Final
54 Allegheny
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
Final
55 Hiram
72 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 20
Final
52 Denison
66 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio (NCAC Quarterfinal)
View Full Schedule

Big Red sweeps season series with Witt

Gabrielle Nottage  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Gabrielle Nottage | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Denison shot a season-high 57 percent from the field and 42 percent from three-point range en route to a 65-42 victory over Wittenberg on Saturday afternoon at Livingston Gymnasium.

Down by one early in the opening quarter, the Big Red orchestrated an 11-0 run over the final 6:17 of the period to build a 16-6 lead at the end of one. DU maintained its double-digit lead for the entire second period, building an 18-point advantage on a Jordan Holmes layup with two minutes to play in the half. The Tigers' Liz Tolliver knocked down a pair of free throws to shrink the deficit to 16. However, a jumper by freshman Lauren Hofer rebuilt the 18-point lead as the home team took a 34-16 lead into the break.

Senior Erica Holmes gave Denison its first 20-point lead of the game with a layup one minute and 49 seconds into the second half. The Big Red held that 20-point advantage for the majority of the final two periods. The Tigers were able to pull within 14 midway through the fourth quarter, but a 13-2 surge over the final 3:45 propelled the Big Red to a 23-point victory.

Denison went 27-for-47 from the field which included a 5-for-12 performance from three. They also connected on six of their seven attempts from the foul line. The Big Red defense held Wittenberg to a 23 percent (12-for-52) conversion rate from the field. DU held a 36-25 edge on the glass, while also outscoring the Tigers in the paint 30-10.

Senior Emily Krumpe led all scorers with 16 points, while Jordan Holmes finished with 10 points and 18 rebounds. Holmes' 18-rebound performance moves her career total to 1,578 which moves her into sixth place on the career rebounds list that spans all three divisions of the NCAA. Gabrielle Nottage dished out a career-high 12 assists to go along with nine points. Nottage's 12 helpers are tied for the third-most in a single game in program history. The senior point guard also went a perfect 6-for-6 at the charity stripe.

Amanda Raber and Sydney Mayle paced the Wittenberg scoring with 11 and 10 points, respectively. Michelle Brunswick handed out four assists and grabbed six rebounds.

With the win, Denison improves to 10-10 overall and 7-4 in the North Coast Athletic Conference, while the Tigers fall to 8-12 and 4-7 in the conference. The Big Red returns to action on Wednesday (Feb. 1) when they travel to Delaware, Ohio for a 6 p.m. contest against the Battling Bishops.

DU edges Fighting Scots
January 4, 2017 DU edges Fighting Scots
#14 Maryville stops Big Red
November 26, 2016 #14 Maryville stops Big Red