Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Columbus, Ohio in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

CMU strikes early to defeat Big Red

Valesha Province  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Valesha Province | Photo by Jace Delgado

MARIETTA, Ohio -- On the second day of Marietta College's 33rd annual Jim Meagle Turkey Shoot, Denison women's basketball fell to Carnegie Mellon University, 76-57, on Sunday afternoon.

Despite a team-high 14 points from junior Valesha Province, the Tartans held the Big Red to 39 percent from the field and cashed in on 7-of-13 3-pointers for the game. CMU led for all 40 minutes of play, including a 20-10 scoring run to open the contest assisted by Makayla Filiere's three perimeter jumpers in the first quarter.

Trailing 22-12 to open the second quarter, a three from Province was followed up by a bucket from Aliyah Hunter to cut Denison's deficit to five, 22-17, with 8:54 to play in the first half. The Tartans totaled a 16-7 scoring run over the next seven minutes of action, including 67% shooting during the run. DU trailed 41-28 entering intermission.

Carnegie Mellon built their lead in the third, taking a 51-33 advantage with 4:31 remaining in the quarter. Denison's Brittany Atkinson answered with a basket to ignite an 8-3 run to end the frame and only trail 54-41 entering the final quarter.

The Tartans solidified the win in the fourth after outrebounding Denison 12-9 for the quarter and connecting on 10-13 free throw attempts. A layup from Lauren Hofer at the 5:50 mark cut DU's deficit back to 63-39, but CMU countered with an 11-2 scoring run capitalized by 7-9 shooting from the charity stripe. The Big Red were unable to recover, falling to Carnegie Mellon, 76-57.

Province's 14 points earned her a spot on the Jim Meagle Turkey Shoot All-Tournament team, where she averaged 12.5 points and four rebounds per game for the weekend. Hunter recorded 10 points on the day, while Atkinson and sophomore Alison Schafer chipped in eight points each.

The Tartans were paced by three players with double-digit scoring efforts, including a game-high 24 points from Filiere. Laurel Pereira added 16 points and Katharine Higgins totaled 13.

Denison will return to Livingston Gymnasium on Wednesday, Nov. 29 when they play host to Mount Union at 6 p.m.