Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
Final
72 Denison
49 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
Final
62 Denison
69 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
Final
63 Franklin
71 vs. Denison
@ The Capital Center (Columbus, Ohio) in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
63 Denison
55 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
73 Denison
67 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
Final
62 DePauw
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
Final
46 Denison
59 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
Final
62 Oberlin
53 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
Final
44 Kenyon
38 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
Final - OT
62 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
Final
33 Ohio Wesleyan
65 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
Final
52 Wooster
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
Final
43 Denison
75 at #7 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
Final
54 Allegheny
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
Final
55 Hiram
72 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 20
Final
52 Denison
66 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio (NCAC Quarterfinal)
View Full Schedule

Big Red comeback falls short against Kenyon

Brittany Atkinson  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Brittany Atkinson | Photo by Craig Hicks

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Despite a game-high 15 points from senior Brittany Atkinson, the Big Red's rally in the final minutes fell short on Wednesday night, falling to Kenyon College, 44-38, at Livingston Gymnasium.

Denison only committed four turnovers on the evening, but the Ladies took advantage on the glass, outrebounding the Big Red 49-30, including 10 rebounds each from Lane Davis and senior Griffin Tullis.

Trailing 18-14 coming out of the half, Denison's Lauren Hofer connected from the field and then turned a Kenyon turnover into a layup on the other end to make it a three-point game, 21-18, with 7:13 remaining in the third quarter.

Over the next 4:15 of play, the Ladies outscored the Big Red 11-2, fueled by six offensive rebounds and five points from Jessica Gerber to extend their lead to 32-20.  Atkinson finished with a three-point play off a Kenyon foul to cut the deficit to 32-25, but another three from Gerber and a jumper from Kiele Anderson put the Ladies in front by 10, 37-27, entering the final quarter.

Kenyon started the fourth quarter with four points from Tullis and took their largest lead of the game, 43-29, at the 6:51 mark. Denison didn't back down though, as they proceeded to go on a 9-0 scoring run led by three-straight buckets from Atkinson, Shonta Lockett, and sophomore Alison Schafer, to cut the Ladies' lead to five, 43-38, with 2:16 remaining.

With 1:33 to play, Schafer took a three-point look from the top of the key, but Kenyon's Sharon Hull brought in the board and forced DU to foul.

A steal from Lockett gave Denison the ball back with less than a minute to play, but Hofer was unable to connect at the hoop, giving possession back to KC. Trailing 44-38 with seven seconds to play, Schafer's shot from three-point territory didn't fall through as Denison fell to 3-7 in the North Coast Athletic Conference. Kenyon improved to 10-1 in conference play.

The Ladies received a double-double from Tullis, who finished with 12 points and 10 rebounds. Davis added six points to her 10-board effort, while Gerber chipped in 10 points and four assists.

Atkinson totaled her 15 points on 6-of-12 shooting while Hofer finished with nine points and six rebounds for Denison before fouling out of the game. Lauren Longbrake added six points and six boards off the bench.

Denison will return to action this Saturday, Jan. 27 when they travel to Springfield, Ohio to take on the Tigers of Wittenberg University. Tip-off is set for 1 p.m.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine