No Event
Sat Mar 04
Final
15 Denison
6 vs. Allegheny
@ Greenville, Pa. in Greenville, Pa.
Sun Mar 12
Final
8 Denison
7 vs. Springfield
@ NTC-Florida in Clermont, Fla.
Wed Mar 15
Final
8 Rensselaer
13 vs. Denison
@ @ NTC-Florida in Clermont, Fla.
Fri Mar 17
Final
7 Denison
16 vs. Rowan
@ @ NTC-Florida in Clermont, Fla.
Sat Mar 25
Final
5 Denison
17 at #6 Cortland St.
in Cortland, N.Y.
Tue Mar 28
Final
15 Denison
7 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
13 Wittenberg
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
15 Denison
12 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Apr 12
Final
3 DePauw
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
0 Hiram
22 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 18
Final
18 Denison
9 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final
18 Denison
4 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
Final
5 Kenyon
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
Final
13 Denison
10 vs. Stevenson
@ Bethel Park High School in Bethel Park, Pa.
Wed May 03
Final
9 Wittenberg
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat May 06
Final
10 Oberlin
15 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Sun May 14
Final
17 Brockport St.
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Second Round
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red sets sights on the postseason

Alyssa Zinsser helped Denison to big win over OWU.
Alyssa Zinsser helped Denison to big win over OWU.

After suffering their first conference loss of 2012 on Wednesday, the Big Red responded with a dominating performance against Ohio Wesleyan to secure the No. 2 seed in next week's North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament.  Denison topped the Battling Bishops 18-4 from Selby Stadium in Delaware, Ohio.

Before the game was even 10 minutes old, the Big Red held a 6-0 lead and the onslaught would continue throughout the first 30 minutes as DU led 11-1 at halftime.

In the first half the Denison defense forced OWU into 16 turnovers and the Big Red turned that into 20 first half shots.  For the game, Denison outshot Ohio Wesleyan 33-15 while forcing them into 29 turnovers.

The dominating first half was a team effort and their 10 goals were spread among seven different players.  For the game, eight players scored at least one goal and senior Alex Thurner was the leader with five goals and one assist.  Olivia Shiland and Laura Spinelli followed with three goals and Paige Williams ended with two goals and one assist.

Molly Cornbrooks, Molly Chapman and Carly Tschantz led the way with three ground balls while Tschantz also posted a game-high 11 draws.   Grace Bodenmann and Hannah Minifie split time in goal for Denison.  Bodenmann got the start and turned in two saves while allowing one goal.  Minifie played the second half and posted four saves while allowing three goals.

Ohio Wesleyan was led by Cate Bailey and Annie Swanson who accounted for all four of OWU's goals. Lauren Figy posted 11 saves in her 60 minutes of action. 

Denison ends the regular season with a record of 12-4 overall and 5-1 in the NCAC.  Ohio Wesleyan's season comes to an end at 7-8 and 1-5 in conference play.  DU will host No. 3 seed, Wooster