No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Mon Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
8:00 AM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
Cleveland Skating Club
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Hope
Denison
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
Thu Mar 22
3:00 PM
Denison
at Fla. Southern
Lakeland, FL
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red falls to No. 8 Chicago

Meg Chiumento picked up a three-set win at third singles against #8 Chicago.
Meg Chiumento picked up a three-set win at third singles against #8 Chicago.

In its first dual match of the season, the Denison women's tennis team suffered a 7-2 setback to eighth-ranked Chicago on Saturday at the Jasper Tennis Center on the campus of Kenyon College.

The Big Red picked up its two victories at second and third singles.  Sophomore Taylor Hawkins and Meg Chiumento both posted three-set wins. At the second flight, Hawkins dropped a 6-2 decision to Helen Sdvizkhov. However, the second-year player rebounded with back-to-back 6-2 victories to take the flight.  Chiumento also suffered a setback (6-1) in the opening set of her match.  The No. 3 singles player also rallied from the early deficit to win the next two sets with matching 6-3 scores.

Denison falls to 0-1, while the Maroons improve to 1-1 on the year.  DU returns to action next Saturday when they take on Allegheny College at the Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.  Match time is slated for 3 p.m.