No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 11
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 02
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind. in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Feb 26
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
10:00 AM
Denison
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
in Middletown, Conn.
Thu Mar 23
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red finishes runner-up at NCAC Tourney

Big Red finishes runner-up at NCAC Tourney

In a rematch of last year's championship match, the 26th-ranked Denison women's tennis suffered 6-0 setback to 11th-ranked DePauw on Sunday at the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament. With the loss, the Big Red finished second at the conference tournament for the second-consecutive year.

The Tigers, who edged Denison 5-4 in the regular season one week ago, jumped out to a 3-0 advantage after sweeping doubles play. Julie Wittwer and Kaitlin Pickrel gave DePauw the early lead with an 8-1 win over Heather Abzug and Eleni Coleman at the third flight.  Meg Crowley and Claire Marshall doubled the Tiger lead with an 8-4 decision over Meg Chiumento and Sarah Torrence. Caroline Emhardt and Maggie MacPhail completed the sweep with an 8-5 decision over Kelsey Geppner and Taylor Hawkins.

The 3-0 decifict was a familiar situation for Head Coach Peter Burling and his Big Red squad.  On April 19 in Greencastle, DU entered singles play trailing DePauw 3-0.  The Big Red won four of the six flights in singles, but a three-set win at No. 6 clinched the win for the Tigers.

Heading into singles play in the championship match of the NCAC Tournament, the No. 11 team in the country didn't want a repeat of those events.  Emhardt and Wittwer clinched the Tigers' third-straight NCAC title with straight-set wins at fifth and sixth singles, respectively.  Because of regional-ranking implications, the top singles flight between Geppner and MacPhail was played out. After suffering a straight-set loss to Geppner in Greencastle, MacPhail evened the head-to-head meetings with a 7-5, 6-4 victory.

Denison competed the season with an 11-9 record, while DePauw will take an 18-4 mark into the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.