Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Feb 09
Final
9 #9 Chicago
0 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
Final
6 #16 Trinity (Tex.)
3 vs. Denison
@ North Ridge Tennis Club in North Ridgeville, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
Final
1 Denison
8 vs. #18 Case Western Reserve
@ Cleveland Skating Club in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
3:00 PM
Denison
vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Club Sport & Health in Monroeville, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
5:00 PM
Hope
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
2:00 PM
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Mar 09
4:30 PM
Northwestern Ohio
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Towson
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Colorado Col.
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
3:00 PM
Denison
at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
9:00 AM
St. Lawrence
vs. Denison
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Shawnee St.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
TBA
John Carroll
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
10:00 AM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red finishes runner-up at NCAC Tourney

Denison tennis player

In a rematch of last year's championship match, the 26th-ranked Denison women's tennis suffered 6-0 setback to 11th-ranked DePauw on Sunday at the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament. With the loss, the Big Red finished second at the conference tournament for the second-consecutive year.

The Tigers, who edged Denison 5-4 in the regular season one week ago, jumped out to a 3-0 advantage after sweeping doubles play. Julie Wittwer and Kaitlin Pickrel gave DePauw the early lead with an 8-1 win over Heather Abzug and Eleni Coleman at the third flight.  Meg Crowley and Claire Marshall doubled the Tiger lead with an 8-4 decision over Meg Chiumento and Sarah Torrence. Caroline Emhardt and Maggie MacPhail completed the sweep with an 8-5 decision over Kelsey Geppner and Taylor Hawkins.

The 3-0 decifict was a familiar situation for Head Coach Peter Burling and his Big Red squad.  On April 19 in Greencastle, DU entered singles play trailing DePauw 3-0.  The Big Red won four of the six flights in singles, but a three-set win at No. 6 clinched the win for the Tigers.

Heading into singles play in the championship match of the NCAC Tournament, the No. 11 team in the country didn't want a repeat of those events.  Emhardt and Wittwer clinched the Tigers' third-straight NCAC title with straight-set wins at fifth and sixth singles, respectively.  Because of regional-ranking implications, the top singles flight between Geppner and MacPhail was played out. After suffering a straight-set loss to Geppner in Greencastle, MacPhail evened the head-to-head meetings with a 7-5, 6-4 victory.

Denison competed the season with an 11-9 record, while DePauw will take an 18-4 mark into the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.