No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 11
Final
2 Denison
7 at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #22 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
Final
7 Indiana (PA)
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
Final
2 #25 Denison
7 at #29 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
Final
4 #25 Denison
5 at #24 Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #25 Denison
9 vs. #8 Wesleyan
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
0 Allegheny
5 Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
9:00 AM
Kenyon
Denison
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red finishes runner-up at NCAC Tourney

Denison tennis player

In a rematch of last year's championship match, the 26th-ranked Denison women's tennis suffered 6-0 setback to 11th-ranked DePauw on Sunday at the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament. With the loss, the Big Red finished second at the conference tournament for the second-consecutive year.

The Tigers, who edged Denison 5-4 in the regular season one week ago, jumped out to a 3-0 advantage after sweeping doubles play. Julie Wittwer and Kaitlin Pickrel gave DePauw the early lead with an 8-1 win over Heather Abzug and Eleni Coleman at the third flight.  Meg Crowley and Claire Marshall doubled the Tiger lead with an 8-4 decision over Meg Chiumento and Sarah Torrence. Caroline Emhardt and Maggie MacPhail completed the sweep with an 8-5 decision over Kelsey Geppner and Taylor Hawkins.

The 3-0 decifict was a familiar situation for Head Coach Peter Burling and his Big Red squad.  On April 19 in Greencastle, DU entered singles play trailing DePauw 3-0.  The Big Red won four of the six flights in singles, but a three-set win at No. 6 clinched the win for the Tigers.

Heading into singles play in the championship match of the NCAC Tournament, the No. 11 team in the country didn't want a repeat of those events.  Emhardt and Wittwer clinched the Tigers' third-straight NCAC title with straight-set wins at fifth and sixth singles, respectively.  Because of regional-ranking implications, the top singles flight between Geppner and MacPhail was played out. After suffering a straight-set loss to Geppner in Greencastle, MacPhail evened the head-to-head meetings with a 7-5, 6-4 victory.

Denison competed the season with an 11-9 record, while DePauw will take an 18-4 mark into the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.