No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Geneseo
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
3 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Grove City
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Alma
3 vs. Denison
@ Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio
Tue Sep 05
Final
1 Mt. Vernon Naz.
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 08
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Otterbein
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Geneva
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 La Roche
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
2 Capital
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 19
Final
3 Heidelberg
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final
2 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Sep 26
Final
3 #22 Ohio Northern
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 28
Final
2 Denison
3 at Bluffton
in Bluffton, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Hiram
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
3 Otterbein
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Kenyon
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
Final
1 Denison
3 at #1 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Allegheny
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final
1 Oberlin
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 20
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Cabrini
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Oct 20
Final
1 Denison
3 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Haverford
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Denison
3 vs. DeSales
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Oct 25
Final
3 Denison
0 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. John Carroll
@ New Concord, OH in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
1 Denison
3 at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
Final
1 Kenyon
3 vs. Denison
@ Wittenberg NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
Final
0 Denison
3 at Wittenberg
NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU drops first two matches in Pittsburgh

Isabella Pivec  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Isabella Pivec | Photo by Brett Dunbar

PITTSBURGH, Pa. -- Denison volleyball dropped a pair of matches on Friday evening to open the Carnegie Mellon Invitational in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Big Red fell to Cabrini University, 3-0 (25-19, 25-15, 25-19) and No. 6 Carnegie Mellon University, 3-1 (25-19, 25-23, 20-25, 25-20).

Against Cabrini, sophomore Alex Tubbs led the match with a .538 hitting percentage and tied Isabella Pivec for a team-best with seven kills.

DU's senior Leah Reinfranck and freshman Emma Woerner contributed four kills each, while Julia Miller paced the Big Red with 15 assists.

Against Carnegie Mellon, the Big Red fell in the first two sets but stormed back in the third set 25-20 thanks to multiple kills from Pivec and freshman Kaila Kasper. The Tartans then took an early 7-0 lead in the fourth set as Maia So-Holloway and Sarah Jurgens helped Carnegie Mellon win the set and take the match, 3-1.

Pivec led Denison with 12 kills, while Kasper finished second on the team with 10. Miller added 26 assists and senior Kristin Thewes contributed 29 digs for DU, both were match-highs. The Tartans received a combined 25 kills from Heather Holton and Eliza Donohue, while So-Holloway totaled 21 assists.

The Big Red will return to action this Saturday, Oct. 21 for the final day of the Carnegie Mellon Invitational. Denison will take on Haverford College at 11 a.m. and DeSales University at 1 p.m.

Bluffton edges DU in five
September 28, 2017 Bluffton edges DU in five