Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Mar 03
Final
10 Denison
11 at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, VA in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
9 Denison
0 at Hampden-Sydney
in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
Final
5 Denison
1 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sat Mar 10
Final
3 Denison
0 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
Final
3 Capital
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
12 Adrian
9 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
0 Amherst
4 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
18 #6 Wooster
1 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Mon Mar 19
Final
20 Denison
4 vs. #4 North Central (Ill.)
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
Final
7 Plymouth St.
5 vs. Denison
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
7 vs. #21 Johns Hopkins
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
12 vs. St. Lawrence
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
3 vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
3 Otterbein
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
15 Denison
11 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final - 10 innings
6 Denison
7 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Thu Apr 05
Final
7 #25 Baldwin Wallace
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
5 Denison
3 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Wed Apr 11
Final
3 DePauw
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
9 DePauw
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Hiram
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
4 Hiram
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final - 10 innings
10 Denison
9 at #14 Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
Postponed
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
3 Kenyon
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
9 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Apr 26
Final
4 #20 Marietta
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
Final
4 #2 Wooster
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
Final
2 #2 Wooster
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
Final
8 Denison
4 at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
6 Oberlin
18 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
9 Oberlin
10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat May 05
Final
4 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat May 05
Final
16 Denison
1 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sun May 06
Final
12 Denison
10 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Thu May 10
Final
4 Wabash
2 vs. Denison
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 11
Final
4 Kenyon
9 vs. #24 Denison
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 11
Final
2 #24 Denison
4 vs. #2 Wooster
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Thu May 17
Final
5 #11 Chris. Newport
1 vs. #24 Denison
@ Ting Park in Holly Springs, N.C. - NCAA South Regional
Fri May 18
Final
6 Randolph-Macon
1 vs. Denison
@ Holly Springs,NC NCAA South Regional
View Full Schedule

Crusaders edge Denison in 13 innings

Ryan Mulligan
Ryan Mulligan reached base four times (3 hits, walk) at Capital on Friday.

An RBI single by Ryan Pearson in the bottom of the 13th inning powered the Capital Crusaders to a 6-5 victory over Denison on Friday in Bexley, Ohio.

Senior Tim Duxbury was struck by a pitch to open the 13th inning.  After moving to second on a wild pitch, Duxbury advanced to third on a ground out to second by fellow senior Lowell Hall.  Duxbury crossed the dish on an RBI fielder's choice by Charlie Apfelbach.

In the bottom of the frame, Connor Murphy returned to the hill for his seventh inning of relief.  After surrendering a lead-off single, the junior hurler fanned Matt Carnahan for the first out of the inning.  On the strikeout, Taylor Branisel stole second to move into scoring position.  With the bases now loaded and two down, Pearson laced a single to center that scored Branisel and the game-winning run, Dean Langholz.

The Crusaders grabbed a 2-0 advantage in the bottom of the first behind an RBI single by Branisel and a one-run double from Brandon Natale.  Capital added to its lead in the second when a base hit up the middle by Nate Campbell scored Pearson from third.

In the fifth, junior Andrew Touhy pushed Denison's first run across with a double to right center.  Touhy's two bagger scored Apfelbach from second base.  The Crusaders quickly answered in the bottom of the frame when Branisel cleared the wall in right field.

Senior Kyle Clemmenson matched Branisel's feat with a long ball of his own in the sixth.  Clemmenson's seventh-career homer sailed over the left field wall.  With two outs in the seventh, senior Danny Kraus ripped a triple to center field that scored Touhy.  That swing of the bat gave Kraus three triples and three RBIs on the season.

With the bases now loaded in the seventh, sophomore Ryan Mulligan worked a base-on-ball to drive in Kraus.  The score remained tied at 4-4 through the final two and a half innings, forcing extra frames.

Mulligan paced the DU offense with three hits, including a double, and an RBI.  Apfelbach, Touhy, Kraus and Clemmenson each logged two hits, an RBI and a run.  Murphy suffered the loss after allowing two runs on four hits in 6.2 innings out of the pen.  The junior fanned a career-high 10 hitters and issued just two walks.  Kyle Colgain got the start, allowing four runs on eight hits with seven Ks in six innings.

Branisel went 3-for-5 with two RBIs and three runs, while Campbell also logged three hits with an RBI.  Reliever Sam Sifferlin picked up his first win of the season after giving up an unearned run on three hits in five frames.

Denison falls to 2-6 on the year, while Capital improves to 7-5.  DU returns to action on Saturday when they host a doubleheader against Ohio Northern University.  Game one of the twinbill is slated to begin at 1 p.m.

Three named NCAC AOW
April 23, 2013 Three named NCAC AOW
Clippers for a Cause
November 10, 2012 Clippers for a Cause