Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Feb 29
12:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sat Feb 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 01
12:00 PM
Denison
at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Fri Mar 06
2:00 PM
Denison
vs. Adrian
@ Berry College in Rome, Ga. - Berry Invitational
Sat Mar 07
4:00 PM
Denison
at Berry
in Rome, Ga. - Berry Invitational
Sun Mar 08
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Wis.-Oshkosh
@ Berry College in Rome, Ga. - Berry Invitational
Tue Mar 10
5:00 PM
Otterbein
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Denison
at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Mar 14
10:30 AM
Baldwin Wallace
vs. Denison
@ North Charlotte Regional Park #9; Port Charlotte, Florida
Sun Mar 15
11:00 AM
Babson
vs. Denison
Tue Mar 17
2:30 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, FL (at North Charlotte Regional Park)
Wed Mar 18
11:00 AM
Denison
vs. Scranton
@ North Charlotte Regional Park, Field 10 -- Port Charlotte, Fla.
Fri Mar 20
11:00 AM
SUNY Cobleskill
vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, Fla.
Tue Mar 24
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
12:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 01
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Apr 01
3:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 04
12:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
3:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 05
1:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Wed Apr 08
7:00 PM
Marietta
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
12:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 14
1:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 14
4:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 18
12:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 18
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Tue Apr 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Wed Apr 22
4:00 PM
Denison
at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
12:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat Apr 25
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Sun Apr 26
1:00 PM
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Baseball rounds out Florida trip with 5-0 shutout of Williams

Taylor Perrett  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Taylor Perrett | Photo by Craig Hicks

FORT MYERS, Fla. - Thanks to a season-high nine strikeouts from sophomore Taylor Perrett, Denison baseball rounded out their spring trip on Saturday afternoon with a 5-0 shutout of Williams College in Fort Myers, Fla. Sitting at 13-2 through the first 15 games of the season, the Big Red are off to their hottest start in program history. The program's best start prior to this season came in 2004 when DU opened the campaign at 12-2.

Totalling five runs on 11 hits for the game, the Big Red earned their first shutout of the season behind a dominant pitching performance from Perrett. Over six innings on the mound, Perrett earned the win while allowing only five hits and one walk with nine strikeouts, the second-most of his career.

Through the first two innings of action, Perrett and Williams' starter Charlie Carpenter combined to allow zero runs on three hits and recorded four strikeouts.

Tied at 0-0 entering the bottom of the third, Denison's Nick Pettigrew singled to open the inning. Three batters later with runners on first and third, senior Grady Paine drove in the first run of the game with an RBI single that sent Vince Walker to second and scored Pettigrew from third.

Following three-straight outs from Perrett in the top of the fourth, the Big Red continued to add to their lead in the home half of the inning when an RBI single from Pettigrew scored Will Krushena and Max Lahn to increase DU's lead to three, 3-0.

Leading 4-0 entering the bottom of the seventh, Walker and Paine started the inning with back-to-back singles. After Ty Robinson grounded out and Walker was thrown out at home, Lahn connected on an RBI single that scored Paine and put the Big Red ahead, 5-0.

Pitching the final three innings of the game for Denison, freshman Henry Haack kept the game scoreless while recording four strikeouts to earn the first save of his career and give the Big Red their third win over their last four games. Williams earned their first loss of the season, dropping to 5-1 in 2019.

Pettigrew led DU with a 3-for-3 performance at the plate, totalling an RBI and a run scored. Lahn and Paine each went 2-for-4 with a run scored and a run driven in.

The Big Red will return to action on Tuesday, March 26 when they host Ohio Northern University at 5 p.m.