Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
2 Denison
1 at Dickinson
in Carlisle, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
3 Denison
0 at Elizabethtown
in Elizabethtown, Pa.
Fri Sep 06
Final
1 Denison
2 at #17 Wash. & Jeff.
in Washington, Pa.
Sun Sep 08
Final - OT
0 Washington and Lee
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 12
Final
1 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Oberlin
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 22
Final - OT
1 Rhodes
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
4 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 01
Final
2 Kenyon
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
Final
0 Wooster
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
Final
0 Allegheny
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
4:30 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 26
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 29
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
12:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison captures 11th NCAC Championship

Teya Adams  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Teya Adams | Photo by Jace Delgado

DELAWARE, Ohio--  Denison clinched the 2018 North Coast Athletic Conference Championship by defeating Ohio Wesleyan, 2-0 on Thursday at Selby Stadium.  This is Denison's 11th conference championship and the program's first outright conference title since 2000.  Denison's 11 NCAC championships in field hockey are more than any other NCAC institution.

The Big Red secured the hardware for the second consecutive season by doing what they have done throughout the year, dominating the ball on offense while giving the opposition virtually no chance to score.  DU outshot the Battling Bishops 22-4 but the two teams played the first half scoreless.

Six minutes into the second half, Denison's Alyssa Bahel fired a shot that Ashley Barno turned away with a defensive save.  Off the rebound, Virginia Hamilton was stationed at the post and deposited the first goal of the match.

Denison took a 2-0 lead in the 53rd minute when Charlotte Godfrey scored off her own rebound. 

All four of Ohio Wesleyan's shot attempts came in a final flurry in the final minute of play.  None of the shots made it to the cage and the Big Red moved to 12-0 in conference play.  Denison goalie Teya Adams recorded her sixth shutout while improving to 14-2, overall.

Denison is trying to become the ninth team in NCAC history to race through conference play undefeated.  The Big Red travel to Earlham next Thursday (Oct. 25) for a 4:30 p.m. match against the Quakers.