Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
2 Denison
1 at Dickinson
in Carlisle, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
3 Denison
0 at Elizabethtown
in Elizabethtown, Pa.
Fri Sep 06
Final
1 Denison
2 at #17 Wash. & Jeff.
in Washington, Pa.
Sun Sep 08
Final - OT
0 Washington and Lee
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 12
Final
1 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Oberlin
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 22
Final - OT
1 Rhodes
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
4 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 01
Final
2 Kenyon
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
Final
0 Wooster
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
Final
0 Allegheny
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Denison
0 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 26
Final
2 Denison
1 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 29
Final
0 Wittenberg
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
Final
5 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Nov 06
Final
0 DePauw
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
1 Kenyon
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
2 Denison
1 at Rochester (N.Y.)
in Rochester, N.Y. - NCAA Tournament First Round
Sat Nov 16
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Tufts
@ Baltimore, MD in Baltimore, Md. - NCAA Tournament Second Round
View Full Schedule

Denison blanks Witt, Soteriades gets 200th win

PJ Soteriades earned career win No. 200 vs. Wittenberg
PJ Soteriades earned career win No. 200 vs. Wittenberg

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Denison field hockey held on for a 1-0 victory over Wittenberg on Tuesday afternoon at Piper Stadium. For Denison head coach PJ Soteriades it marked career win No. 200.

It was a tightly contested match and a first quarter goal by Denison's Abby Scully ended up being the difference.  In the 12th minute of play, Scully deftly maneuvered her way into the circle and near the cage where she deposited her sixth goal of the season past Tiger starter Emma Hurguy.

Neither team attempted a shot in the second quarter, but Wittenberg came out of the gates on fire in the third, putting four shots-on-goal in a span of five minutes.  Big Red netminder Teya Adams posted saves on all four shots.

With three minutes left in the third quarter, Denison's Maya Tumiwa fired a shot from just inside the circle that was saved by Tiger back-up goalie, Regan Mazzulli.

In the fourth quarter, Denison opened with consecutive penalty corner attempts and a shot by Tumiwa was blocked by a Wittenberg defender.

The Tigers responded by drawing their first penalty corner of the match with nine minutes to play.  Two more corners followed in the next six minutes and the Tigers nearly tied the match when Veronica Carrow's shot from the doorstep was saved by Adams.

Adams finished with six saves for Denison.  Tumiwa had three shots and Scully finished with two.

Denison improves to 13-3 overall and 6-1 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.  The Big Red remains in a three-way tie for first place in the NCAC with Kenyon and Ohio Wesleyan.  DU closes out the regular season on Saturday when they travel to Oberlin for a noon start.

This is Soteriades' 18th season at Denison she is the program's all-time leader in wins with a record of 200-146 (.578).