Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wed Nov 13
Final
49 Denison
56 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
Final
80 Ohio Northern
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
Final
74 Capital
80 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
Final
69 Otterbein
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
Final
45 Denison
51 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
Final
64 Denison
76 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Denison
60 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
Final
75 Wabash
65 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
Final
79 Denison
71 at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
Final
80 Whittier
69 vs. Denison
@ Kaiser Permanente Arena - Santa Cruz, CA in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
Final
67 Denison
63 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
Final
80 #2 Wittenberg
63 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
Final
71 Denison
83 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
Final
79 Denison
89 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
Final
72 Allegheny
69 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

No. 25 Denison escapes Oberlin with win

Devon Pitts
Devon Pitts

OBERLIN, Ohio--  No. 25 Denison overcame 18 turnovers and a 3-of-14 performance from beyond the arc to defeat Oberlin, 72-69 from Phillips Gym.  The Big Red did it with muscle, scoring 42 of their 69 points in the paint while outrebounding the Yeomen 41-21.

With 3:19 left in the first half, Denison found themselves trailing by eight after Jack Poyle's 3-pointer following a steal by Zach Meyers.  A jumper by Jett Speelman followed by a trey from Claude Chandonnet limited the damage and sent Oberlin into the locker room with a 38-35 lead.

In the second half, the deficit was erased in the first 90 seconds thanks to a pair of baskets by DU senior Bret Woolard.  A 13-4 run by the Big Red halfway through the period put them out in front 60-52 with 6:33 to play.  After Johnny Vernasco's put-back off his own offensive rebound with 2:18 left it looked as if the Big Red had things well in hand, leading 67-56.  Oberlin countered with seven points in the span of a minute, trimming the DU lead back to six with 58 ticks left on the clock.

After David Meurer split free throws on consecutive possessions, Oberlin's Poyle drilled his fifth 3-pointer of the game making the score 71-66 with 23 seconds remaining.  A steal by Oberlin's Christian Fioretti led to a layup at the other end and just like that, it was a one-possession game with 20 seconds to play.

Oberlin fouled Garrett Collier, letting just two seconds elapse from the game clock and Collier missed the pair.  With a chance to tie the game, Collier made up for his miscue at the line, stealing the ball from Nathan Cohen with less than 10 seconds to play.  After the steal, Collier got out on the fastbreak but his layup attempt missed the mark.  Oberlin's Joshua Friedkin got the rebound and was fouled by Devon Pitts.  Friedkin made the first and missed the second one intentionally.  Pitts was there for the rebound and was quickly fouled.  Leading by two with just over two seconds to play, Pitts made the first and missed the second allowing Poyle to offer a desperation heave from beyond midcourt.  His shot was wide left, allowing Denison to escape with the 72-69 win.

Denison had been an excellent 3-point and free throw shooting team all season but their magic touch was not there on this night.  They were 11-of-19 from the charity stripe and shot 21 percent from long range.  The Big Red's low post presence of Speelman and Woolard combined for 36 points as Speelman led with 19 and Woolard followed with 17.

Pitts scored six points but finished with a season-high 11 rebounds in 30 minutes.  Vernasco also gave DU some inspired play off the bench, scoring seven points while adding six boards in 12 minutes.

Poyle led Oberlin (1-6, 0-2 NCAC) with 23 points, going 7-of-9 from the field.  Nathan Cohen chipped in 13 points.

Denison moves to 7-0 overall and 3-0 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.  The Big Red will travel to Wittenberg on Saturday, Dec. 10 for a 3 p.m. tipoff against the Tigers.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout