Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wed Nov 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
8:00 PM
Capital
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
3:00 PM
Otterbein
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
2:00 PM
Wabash
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. Whittier
@ UC Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Long layoff doesn't faze Big Red

Claude Chandonnet  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Claude Chandonnet | Photo by Jace Delgado

BROOKLYN, N.Y.-- The 21st ranked Denison men's basketball team returned to the court for the first time since Dec. 14 with a convincing 79-52 victory over Brooklyn College.

Denison scored 11 of their 37 first half points off turnovers.  That helped them to a 37-21 lead at the intermission.  In the second half, Claude Chandonnet drilled four of his game-high five 3-pointers.  The Big Red also continued their dominance on the glass which limited Brooklyn's second-chance opportunities.  With 14 minutes left in the game, back-to-back 3-pointers by Andrew Castagnetti had DU comfortably out in front with a 27-point lead.  The lead would grow to as much as 32 with five minutes remaining.

Jett Speelman led Denison in scoring with 20 points.  He was 6-of-15 from the field and 4-of-4 from 3-point range.  He also pulled down nine rebounds.  Chandonnet scored 15 points off a 5-of-8 performance from long range.  Bauer chipped in 10 points and 11 boards and Bret Woolard came off the bench for nine points and nine rebounds.

DU shot 39 percent from the field and 64 percent from the free throw line.  Brooklyn was held to 35 percent and 44 percent from the charity stripe.  Michael Tesoriero and Austin Wood led the Bulldogs with 12 points.

Denison returns to action on Tuesday, Jan. 3 when they take on Mount Saint Vincent (N.Y.) at 4 p.m.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout