Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Wed Nov 13
Final
49 Denison
56 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
Final
80 Ohio Northern
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
8:00 PM
Capital
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
3:00 PM
Otterbein
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
2:00 PM
Wabash
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. Whittier
@ UC Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison primed for rematch with Wooster

Bob Ghiloni and team in a timeout against DePauw  |  Photo by Tim Black
Bob Ghiloni and team in a timeout against DePauw | Photo by Tim Black

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  The semifinals and finals of the 2017 North Coast Athletic Conference men's basketball tournament will be played at Ohio Wesleyan University on Feb. 24-25. 

Denison is the No. 3 seed in this year's tournament.  They advanced to the semifinal round after Tuesday's 85-79 win over DePauw University.  The Big Red will face the College of Wooster on Friday at 8:30 p.m. at Branch Rickey Arena in Delaware, Ohio.  The winner of that semifinal will face the winner of the Ohio Wesleyan-Wittenberg contest in the championship game at 4 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 25 on the campus of Ohio Wesleyan.

This is the third time in six years Denison has qualified for the conference tournament final four.  At 22-4 they are in the midst of the best season in program history.  Denison is currently ranked 14th in the latest D3hoops.com top-25 poll.

In the win over DePauw, David Meurer and Jett Speelman combined for 48 of the team's 85 points.  Meurer scored 28 while Speelman added 20 points and seven rebounds.  Denison connected on 12-of-30 from 3-point range and shot 45 percent from the field.  Speelman needs only two points to join Denison's 1,000-point club.  An impressive feat considering Speelman is in just his second season at Denison after transferring from Division II Ashland prior to his junior season.

Wooster and Denison split the regular-season series with each team winning on the road.  DU handed then 11th ranked Wooster a 65-59 loss on Nov. 30.  The Fighting Scots returned the favor with a 77-62 win in Granville on Feb. 4.  This is a rematch of last year's NCAC Tournament Championship game that was won by Denison, 92-81, in overtime.

Wooster (19-7) is led in scoring by senior Dan Fanelly (18.1 ppg).  They boast the top scoring offense in the league at 85.7 ppg and are beating teams by an average of 14.6 points per game this season.

Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for children, 18 and under.  Individuals with NCAC guest passes and college students from non-NCAC institutions will also be charged $5.  College students will a valid NCAC ID will be admitted free.  This ticket is for one game only. The facility will be cleared after the conclusion of the first semifinal game.

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout