Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wed Nov 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
8:00 PM
Capital
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
3:00 PM
Otterbein
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
2:00 PM
Wabash
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. Whittier
@ UC Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Speelman to play in D-III All-Star Game

Jett Speelman  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Jett Speelman | Photo by Craig Hicks

GRANVILLE, Ohio—Denison senior Jett Speelman received a pair of honors from national organizations.  He was selected to play in the Reese's National Association of Basketball Coaches Division III All-Star Game in Salem, Va. at 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, March 18.  Speelman was also named to the D3hoops.com All-Great Lakes Region third-team.

Speelman averaged a team-high 18.3 ppg in 27 games.  He averaged 6.0 rebounds per game while leading the nation in free throw percentage at .965.  Speelman went 136-for-141 from the charity stripe, breaking the NCAA's single-season record for free throw percentage.  He also leaves Denison as Division III's career leader in free throw percentage, connecting on 92.9 percent in 56 games.

After transferring from Division II Ashland University after his sophomore year, Speelman scored 1,022 points and grabbed 303 rebounds while averaging 28.4 minutes per game for the Big Red.  Denison went 39-17 over the last two seasons, winning the program's first-ever North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament in 2016 and advancing to the NCAA Division III Tournament for the first time since 1997.

Speelman is a member of the West All-Star team that will be coached by former St. John's (Minn.) head coach Jim Smith.  Speelman is the only athlete from the North Coast Athletic Conference playing in the game. He joins DeAllen Jackson from Mount Union as the only representatives from the state of Ohio.

Fifteen players were named to the D3hoops.com Great Lakes All-Region team.  Speelman was one of four players from the NCAC to earn the honor.  He was joined by Nate Axelrod (Ohio Wesleyan), Dan Fanelly (Wooster) and Shane Edwards (Wittenberg).

Denison picks up win number 20
February 15, 2017 Denison picks up win number 20
#10 Denison holds off Hiram
January 18, 2017 #10 Denison holds off Hiram
Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
December 6, 2016 Speelman repeats as NCAC POW
Denison bests W&J in shootout
November 15, 2016 Denison bests W&J in shootout