Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 13
Final
49 Denison
56 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
Final
80 Ohio Northern
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
Final
74 Capital
80 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
Final
69 Otterbein
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
Final
45 Denison
51 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
Final
64 Denison
76 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Denison
60 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
2:00 PM
Wabash
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. Whittier
@ UC Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison falls to UMW in Tipoff Championship

Johnny Vernasco  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Johnny Vernasco | Photo by Jace Delgado

FREDERICKSBURG, Va.--  Five players scored in double figures and host Mary Washington held Denison to 21 points in the second half resulting in a 70-57 loss in the championship of the Hyatt Place Tipoff Tournament.  The loss drops Denison to 2-1 while Mary Washington improves to 2-0.

After Saturday's 90-70 victory over No. 23 Cabrini, the Big Red came out of the gates strong against the Eagles.  A three-point play by Fred Brou with 9:41 left in the first half gave DU its biggest lead at 24-16.  Mary Washington rallied, tying the game at 29-29 with 4:31 left in the first.  Denison's Jack Coulter responded with a 3-pointer to take back the lead, 32-29 but Mary Washington outscored Denison 8-4 over the final four minutes to take a 37-36 lead into the intermission.

In the second half, it took DU four minutes to get on the scoreboard, but a Maxwell Siwik trey at the 16:15 mark cut the deficit in half at 42-39.  The Eagles responded with an 8-0 run to take their first double-digit lead of the game.

Back-to-back buckets by Sheldon Freeman got the Big Red to within seven points of the lead with 12:44 remaining but another 8-0 run by Mary Washington put the home team up 15 with just under 10 minutes to play.

Over the final nine minutes, Denison failed to piece together a run, allowing the Eagles to secure the 13-point victory.  UMW was led by Eric Shaw's 13 points.  He scored his 1,000th career point in the contest.  Four others Mary Washington players scored 11 points apiece to mark five players in double figures.

Denison was led by Garrett Collier and Siwik who each scored 10 points.  Collier led the team in rebounds with nine and also paced the squad with five assists.  Johnny Vernasco scored six points and had eight rebounds.

DU shot 43 percent from the field but was only 7-of-22 from 3-point range.  That was in contrast to Saturday's 14-for-30 performance from beyond the arc.

The Big Red will return to action on Tuesday (Nov. 21) when they travel to Cleveland, Ohio for a 7 p.m. tipoff against Case Western Reserve.

ONU trio too much for Big Red
December 20, 2017 ONU trio too much for Big Red
Wittenberg blows by Big Red
December 9, 2017 Wittenberg blows by Big Red
Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini
November 18, 2017 Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini