Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No events to show.

Denison to honor 50th anniversary of OAC title team

1967-68 Ohio Conference Champion Denison Big Red
1967-68 Ohio Conference Champion Denison Big Red

GRANVILLE, Ohio - In recognition of the 50th anniversary of the Denison men's basketball Ohio Athletic Conference championship season, members of that historic team will be recognized at halftime of the varsity game between Denison and Allegheny on Saturday, February 10.

It will be a day filled with activities surrounding the basketball program. In addition to recognizing the members of the 1967-68 team, it is also Senior Day and Alumni Day.

The full itinerary of events at the Mitchell Center begins at 8:45 a.m. with the annual Joe Hines Memorial Alumni Game. The 1967-68 squad will be honored at halftime. Then, at 10 a.m. Denison's recent alumni will challenge the Big Red's junior varsity squad in a scrimmage.

The Denison women's basketball varsity team will take the court at 1 p.m. to battle on Allegheny College, and that will be followed by the men's varsity contest versus Allegheny at 3 p.m.

Prior to tipoff of the men's and women's basketball games, the senior members of both squads will be recognized for their contributions to their respective programs.

At halftime of the men's game, members of the 1967-68 team will be recognized again at center court.

In 1967-68, Denison finished the season with an 18-5 record, winning the OAC title with four victories in the conference tournament over Muskingum (76-64), Marietta (54-53), Wittenberg (63-46), and Baldwin Wallace (73-72). The Big Red went on to the NCAA College Division Tournament where they defeated Roanoke and fell to Norfolk State to take runner-up honors in the Mideast Regional. The Big Red's 18 wins tied a school record that stood 49 years. It was broken last season when head coach Bob Ghiloni's squad finished the year with a sparkling 22-5 record.

The '68 squad was led by Charlie Claggett's 27 points per game and 10.8 rebounds per game. Bill Druckemiller averaged 14.7 points per game and 14.0 rebounds per game. In the NCAA loss to Norfolk State, Claggett scored a career-high 40 points. That season, Claggett was selected as the team's MVP, scoring 30 points or more nine times. He left Denison as its all-time leading scorer, a record that stood until 2007. Karl Bolstad and Tom Demo both averaged in double figures, while Phil Wince and Jon Williamson were right behind at 7.3 ppg and 5.7 ppg, respectively. The team also consisted of juniors Paul Sandusky and Ray Gellein; sophomores Charles Bridges, Bob Browning, David Klum, Dale Markworth, Frank Mayo manager, Thomas Baker. The freshman on that year's squad were Robert Baird, Ted Barrett, Robert Darner, George Francis, Tim Greenwood, Thomas Grove, Scott Heitmann, Tom Hoaglin, David Keebler, Bruce Matthews, Derrick Stowe, Andy Weiland, and Jon Williamson.

The head coach of the 1967-68 squad was the late Dick Scott, who coached the Big Red for 21 seasons from 1958 until 1979. He ranks second at Denison in career victories with 199, trailing only Walter Livingston's 226 wins. "Scotty," as he was affectionately known to friends and fans, was inducted into Denison's Athletic Hall of Fame in 2001 before passing away in 2005.

ONU trio too much for Big Red
December 20, 2017 ONU trio too much for Big Red
Wittenberg blows by Big Red
December 9, 2017 Wittenberg blows by Big Red
Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini
November 18, 2017 Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini