Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Nov 17
Final
66 Denison
86 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
79 Case Western Reserve
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 28
Final
65 Denison
76 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
57 Denison
83 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Dec 05
Final
81 Hiram
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 08
Final
61 Kenyon
70 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 12
Final
68 Denison
95 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
Final
80 East Tex. Baptist
84 vs. Denison
@ Emory in Atlanta, Ga. - Emory Holiday Classic
Sun Dec 30
Final
61 Denison
50 vs. Oswego
@ Emory in Atlanta, Ga. - Emory Holiday Classic
Thu Jan 03
Final
72 Denison
66 at #11 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
Final
67 Ohio Wesleyan
58 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
Final
57 DePauw
47 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
Final
95 Denison
98 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
Final
59 Denison
92 at #21 Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Jan 18
Final
85 #14 Wabash
74 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
Final
89 Denison
91 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 26
Final
87 Denison
70 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
Final
82 Wittenberg
72 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Final
60 Denison
61 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
Final
73 #9 Wooster
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
Final
90 Allegheny
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
Final
81 Denison
86 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
Final - OT
95 Denison
94 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Denison tops Hiram to advance to NCAC Semifinal

Sheldon Freeman  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Sheldon Freeman | Photo by Jace Delgado

HIRAM, Ohio--  For the third-straight season, Denison has advanced to the final four of the North Coast Athletic Conference men's basketball tournament after a 73-60 win over Hiram College on Tuesday at Price Gymnasium.  With the win, Denison advances to the semifinal round where they will face top-seeded Wittenberg on Friday (Feb. 23) at 5:30 p.m. in Springfield, Ohio.  In the other semifinal, No. 2 Wooster will play No. 3 Ohio Wesleyan at 7:30 p.m. at Pam Evans Arena. 

Denison led most of the way but the Terriers pulled to within three points with six minutes left in the game.  Six days ago, Denison's Garrett Collier scored a career-high 27 points helping Denison to an 18-point win over the Terriers. He was locked in once again.

Collier scored 23 points to along with nine rebounds and four assists in 31 minutes.  Leading by three with under five minutes to play, Matt Doyle's 3-pointer was off the mark but Fred Brou tipped an offensive board out to Collier who drilled a triple from the top of the key.

Hiram came right back with a 3-pointer by Dean Sherman to keep it a three-point game. 

Denison slowed things down at their end and found Doyle who cashed a turnaround jumper to go up five.  On Hiram's next possession, Terrance Warren slipped through the defense but was met near the rim by Johnny Vernasco who blocked his shot.  Vernasco snagged the rebound and got the ball to Collier who was fouled in transition.  Collier made both free throws and Denison held a 65-58 lead with 3:31 to play.

After a Hiram timeout, the Denison defense led to another turnover as Vernasco pressured Terrence Warren tight on the perimeter. Collier sank two more free throws to go up nine with 2:48 to go. Another Hiram miss allowed Denison to take over possession.  On the inbounds pass, Collier found Maxwell Siwik on a nifty cut to give DU a double-digit lead.  Another turnover by the Terriers followed by two free throws by Siwik gave Denison a 13 point lead with 1:32 left.

Denison ended the game on a 12-2 run over the last 4:35 of the game to run away with the win.

The victory moves the Big Red to 3-0 on the season against Hiram.  This is the same Hiram team that defeated Wittenberg (by 24) and Ohio Wesleyan, twice.

Following Collier's 23-point effort was Brou with 11 points and Siwik with 10.  After tying the Denison single-game record with 17 3-pointers last Saturday, the Big Red went only 7-for-19 from downtown against the Terriers. 

DU held a 38-32 advantage on the boards and was 18-of-25 from the free throw line.

Hiram was led by Warren's 16 points. Kelvin Jones scored 10 points and led all players with 13 rebounds.

Denison improves to 15-11 while Hiram's season comes to an end with a 15-11 record.

ONU trio too much for Big Red
December 20, 2017 ONU trio too much for Big Red
Wittenberg blows by Big Red
December 9, 2017 Wittenberg blows by Big Red
Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini
November 18, 2017 Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini