Men’s Basketball names four to NABC Honors Court

(L-R) Maxwell Siwik, Johnny Vernasco, Matt Doyle, Jack Lambert
(L-R) Maxwell Siwik, Johnny Vernasco, Matt Doyle, Jack Lambert

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Denison men's basketball was recognized by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) on Tuesday afternoon for their excellence in the classroom this past season. The 2017-18 team earned the NABC's Team Academic Excellence Award, while also placing four players on the association's Honors Court.

Receiving the NABC's Team Academic Excellence Award for the sixth-consecutive season, Denison was one of five North Coast Athletic Conference schools to earn the honor after posting a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better on the season.

Junior's Matt Doyle and Jack Lambert were named to the NABC's Honors Court for the first time in their careers, while senior's Maxwell Siwik and Johnny Vernasco made their second-straight appearance. The four honorees, who recorded an individual grade point average of 3.2 or better, tied with DePauw and Ohio Wesleyan for tops in the conference.

The Big Red concluded the 2017-18 season with a 15-12 record while advancing to the NCAC Tournament Semifinals for the third-straight season.  Over the last three seasons, Denison men's basketball has won one NCAC Tournament Championship, advanced to the NCAA Division III Tournament while averaging 18 wins per season.