Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 13
Final
49 Denison
56 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
Final
80 Ohio Northern
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
Final
74 Capital
80 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
Final
69 Otterbein
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
Final
45 Denison
51 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
Final
64 Denison
76 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Denison
60 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
2:00 PM
Wabash
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. Whittier
@ UC Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Men’s Basketball falls in season-opener to Oberlin

Matt Doyle  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Matt Doyle | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Denison men's basketball suffered a 77-72 loss on Wednesday evening in their season-opener to in-conference foe Oberlin College at Livingston Gymnasium in Granville.

Despite shooting 45 percent from the field in the first half while converting on three of their seven three-point attempts, the Big Red were outscored 51-40 in the second half as the Yeomen went 20-for-31 from the floor (64.5%) and 4-for-5 from three-point territory.

Leading by as many as 13 points in the second half following three-pointers from Alex Meurer and Matt Doyle, the Big Red took a nine-point lead, 58-47, after sophomore Conor Fenton buried a jump shot with 9:22 remaining in the game.

Over the next 4:13 of play, Oberlin went on a 15-1 scoring run led by back-to-back three-point plays from Joshua Friedkin and Andre Campbell, and a three-pointer from Eli Silverman-Lloyd to put the Yeomen ahead 62-59.

The Big Red battled back to make it a one-point game, 68-67, after a layup from junior Fred Brou with 2:46 to play, but another three from Silverman-Lloyd and four-straight free throws from Friedkin ended the game and gave Denison their first loss of the season. Oberlin improved to 2-1 on the year.

Doyle and Meurer led DU with 16 points each while sophomore Spencer Patenaude added 13 points and five rebounds. Jack Coulter chipped in eight points and Brou followed with six points and five boards.

Oberlin's Campbell recorded a game-high 23 points and tallied four rebounds. Christian Fioretti paced the Yeomen with 16 points and a game-high nine assists. Jordan Armstrong's seven rebounds also led both sides.

Denison will return to the hardwood on Saturday, November 17 when they travel to Ada, Ohio to take on the Polar Bears of Ohio Northern. Tip-off is set for 2 p.m.

Doyle garners All-NCAC honors
February 26, 2019 Doyle garners All-NCAC honors
Big Red takes down Lords
December 8, 2018 Big Red takes down Lords
Denison suffers setback at ONU
November 17, 2018 Denison suffers setback at ONU