Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wed Nov 13
Final
49 Denison
56 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
Final
80 Ohio Northern
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
Halftime
23 Capital
39 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
3:00 PM
Otterbein
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
2:00 PM
Wabash
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. Whittier
@ UC Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
8:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
8:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
8:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
4:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Men’s Basketball suffers NCAC loss to DePauw

Jake Livingston  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Jake Livingston | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Denison men's basketball suffered a 57-47 loss to DePauw University on Wednesday evening at Livingston Gymnasium.

Despite the Big Red shooting 13-of-27 in the second half, including 33.3 percent from the perimeter, the Tigers forced 15 Denison turnovers and outscored DU in the first half, 24-15.

Trailing the Tigers 37-28 with 11:10 remaining in the game, the Big Red began to chip away at their deficit with a jumper from Matt Doyle and a three-pointer that followed from freshman Matt Redmond to cut DePauw's lead to seven, 40-33, at the 9:43 mark.

After Justin McMahon missed the front end of a one and one, Doyle gathered the board and finished at the other end to bring the Big Red within five with 8:29 to play.

Following a timeout from DU after the basket from Doyle, the Tigers put their 54.5 shooting percentage in the second half to work with a 9-0 scoring run that lasted the next 2:35 of action and put DePauw back in front by double digits, 49-35, with less than six minutes to play.

Denison shortened the deficit to nine, 56-47, with 1:53 remaining on one of Doyle's five field goals on the night, but the Tigers held off the Big Red as they handed DU their eighth loss of the season, moving to 5-8 overall and 2-5 in the NCAC. DePauw improved to 9-5 on the season and 3-4 in the conference with the victory.

Junior Matt Gerics led the Big Red with 12 points on 5-of-7 shooting from the floor, while Doyle followed with 10 points, five assists, three rebounds. Redmond and Jake Livingston combined for 10 points and seven rebounds.

DePauw's Nick Felke finished with a game-high 13 points and eight rebounds. Nolan Ginther added 10 points and five assists, while Aaron Shank and Matt Mahlke chipped in eight points each off the bench to help the Tigers' bench outscore DU, 26-15.

The Big Red will hit the road this Saturday, January 12 when they travel to Meadville, Pa. for a 3 p.m. tip-off with the Gators of Allegheny.

Doyle garners All-NCAC honors
February 26, 2019 Doyle garners All-NCAC honors
Big Red takes down Lords
December 8, 2018 Big Red takes down Lords
Denison suffers setback at ONU
November 17, 2018 Denison suffers setback at ONU