Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 16
Final
13 #12 Washington and Lee
14 vs. #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 23
Final
13 Stevenson
6 vs. #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
Final
20 #13 Denison
6 at #12 Roanoke
in Salem, Va.
Sat Mar 09
Final
16 #11 Denison
6 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Mar 15
Final
9 #10 Denison
14 vs. #8 Dickinson
@ Stevenson in Owings Mills, Md. - Mustang Classic
Sat Mar 16
Final
12 #14 Franklin & Marshall
15 vs. #10 Denison
@ Stevenson in Owings Mills, Md. - Mustang Classic
Sat Mar 23
Final
10 Rhodes
16 vs. #13 Denison
@ St. Anne's Belfield in Charlottesville, Va.
Sat Mar 30
Final
7 Albion
24 vs. #13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 03
Final
4 Oberlin
16 vs. #14 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
Final
3 Wabash
27 vs. #14 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 09
Final
15 #13 Denison
12 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
5 Whittier
12 vs. #13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 17
Final
23 Denison
9 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
Final
10 Wittenberg
17 vs. #13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 23
Final
25 #11 Denison
3 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 27
Final
16 #11 Denison
13 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 02
Final
8 Wooster
17 vs. #11 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
Final
11 Ohio Wesleyan
17 vs. #11 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed May 08
Final
6 Concordia Wisconsin
12 vs. #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 11
Final
7 Rhodes
11 vs. #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Third Round
Wed May 15
Final
10 #9 Denison
19 at #2 Salisbury
in Salisbury, Md. - NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule

Denison tops Kenyon, advances to NCAC title game

Peter Pittroff  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Peter Pittroff | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio—Eleventh-ranked Denison advanced to the championship of the 2018 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament after a 14-6 victory over Kenyon College in the semifinal round from Piper Stadium.

Exactly one week earlier Denison and Kenyon met in Granville and the Big Red came away with a convincing 25-1 win.  The Lords returned with a much better showing on this night and managed to keep within three to five goals of Denison until the fourth quarter.

Denison sophomore attackman Peter Pittroff had an excellent night quarterbacking the offense.  He had a hand in nine of the Big Red's 14 goals as he posted a hat-trick while notching six assists.

In the first quarter, Denison's first goal came in transition when Josh Happ found Ben Duhoski in an unsettled situation for his second goal of the season.  Five minutes later, Brooks Davy scored on a pass from Pittroff.

Kenyon responded with a goal from Matt Pollack with 7:03 left in the first but Pittroff closed out the quarter with a pair of goals that were separated by only 38 seconds.

Denison's largest lead of the first half came midway through the second quarter when Pittroff's third goal put the Big Red up 8-3.

In the second half, Kenyon cut the deficit to 9-6 on Jonah Florence's 21st goal of the season.  The Big Red squashed any hopes of a Kenyon comeback when Pittroff found Spencer Butler, then Josiah Wilson on back-to-back goals to go up 11-6.  In the fourth, DU outscored Kenyon 3-0 to set the final at 14-6.

Joining Pittroff on the offensive leaderboard was Davy who scored three goals. He leads DU in scoring and is the ninth player in Denison history to score 50 goals or more in a season.

Chris Broderick had two caused turnovers and four ground balls and Peter Doering also added two caused turnovers and two ground balls.  Henry DeCamp won 18-of-23 faceoffs and led all players with 10 ground balls.

The scoring was rounded out by Wilson (2 goals), Spencer Butler (2 goals), Owen Armstrong (1 goal), Sam Dyson (1 goal), Duhoski (1 goal) and Ryan Kirkpatrick (1 goal).

Reeves McKenney posted 10 saves in goal for Denison.  His counterpart, Matt Pantalon, finished with five saves for the Lords.

Denison and Ohio Wesleyan will square off at Selby Stadium on Saturday, April 28 at 4 p.m.