Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Washington and Lee
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Stevenson
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Roanoke
in Salem, Va.
Sat Mar 09
3:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Mar 15
1:45 PM
Denison
vs. Dickinson
@ Mustang Classic | Stevenson University in Owings Mills, Md. - Mustang Classic
Sat Mar 16
1:45 PM
Denison
vs. Franklin & Marshall
@ Stevenson in Owings Mills, Md. - Mustang Classic
Sat Mar 23
1:00 PM
Rhodes
vs. Denison
@ St. Anne's Belfield, Charlottesville, Va. in Charlottesville, Va.
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Albion
Denison
Wed Apr 03
7:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 09
4:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
12:00 PM
Whittier
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 17
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 23
7:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison men ranked 10th by Inside Lacrosse

Mike Caravana and the Big Red enter the 2019 season ranked 10th by Inside Lacrosse  |  Photo by Pete Emerson
Mike Caravana and the Big Red enter the 2019 season ranked 10th by Inside Lacrosse | Photo by Pete Emerson

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  The 2019 Denison men's lacrosse season is right around the corner and Inside Lacrosse has ranked the Big Red 10th in its annual Face-Off Yearbook Division III Top-20 poll. 

Led by veteran head coach Mike Caravana, who returns for his 26th season in 2019, Denison returns eight starters led by second-team USILA All-America attackman Peter Pittroff.  As a sophomore in 2018, Pittroff tallied 33 goals and 74 assists, marking the second-highest single-season assist total in program history.  He was named the North Coast Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year while helping the Denison offense average 14.85 goals per game.

Other USILA All-Americans returning to the fold include faceoff specialist Henry DeCamp and midfielder Jake Waxter.  DeCamp has won 66 percent of faceoff's taken in two years with the Big Red.  He ranked eighth in Division III in face-off percentage in 2018 at .690.

Waxter led all DU midfielders with 31 goals, 11 assists, and 42 points.  He tallied 11 multi-goal performances in 2018, highlighted by a four-goal outing in Denison's 12-10 victory over No. 20 Washington and Lee.

Over the last five seasons, Denison has established its self among collegiate lacrosse elite.  With a record of 84-13 and a winning percentage of .866, the Big Red has made three NCAA quarterfinal appearances and one trip to the NCAA Final Four since 2014.  Caravana is Denison's career leader in victories with a record of 290-93 (.757).

Denison's season opens on Saturday, February 16 when the Big Red hosts Washington and Lee at 1 p.m.