Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
1 Denison
2 at Juniata
in Huntingdon, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
10 Denison
0 at Penn St.-Altoona
in Altoona, Pa.
Thu Sep 05
Final
1 Marietta
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 07
Final
2 Denison
1 at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed Sep 11
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at #13 Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
Final
1 #4 John Carroll
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Denison
1 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
0 Denison
3 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Big Red Weekend
Sat Oct 05
Final
3 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat Oct 12
Final
1 Denison
3 at #9 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 16
Final
2 Denison
0 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 DePauw
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 22
Final
1 Oberlin
4 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
Final
1 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Hiram
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
Final
0 Wooster
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Big Red fall short to #4 Blue Streaks

Ethan Miracle  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Ethan Miracle | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – John Carroll's Jared Ianiro scored the game-winning goal in the 63rd minute as Denison men's soccer suffered a 1-0 loss to the fourth-ranked Blue Streaks on Saturday evening at Barclay-Thomsen Field in Granville.

JCU posted a 15-5 shot advantage over the Big Red throughout the match, including a 6-1 lead in corner kicks.

In the first half, John Carroll put the pressure on from the start, taking five shots in the first nine minutes of action. The Blue Streaks finished the first half with a 10-1 shot advantage, but four saves from Denison's Dylan Brown kept JCU off the board as both sides entered the half scoreless, 0-0.

The Big Red opened the second half with back-to-back shots from seniors Luis Zamora and Ryan Albers, but Larry Cersosimo and Mario Aboumitri countered with a pair of targets in the 50th and 55th minutes as the match stayed tied at 0-0.

At 62:08, the Blue Streaks scored the first goal of the match when William Turritin sent a corner kick into the DU goal box and Jared Ianiro headed it in for his third goal of the season and to give JCU a 1-0 lead.

Denison's Leo Herard looked to even the match with a shot in the 64th minute, but the Big Red were held scoreless for the remainder of the night as they moved to 3-2-1 on the season. The nationally-ranked Blue Streaks improved to 6-0 to remain undefeated in 2019.

Justin Lafountain and Aboumitri led the match with four shots each while Ianiro added three shots to his game-winning goal. Denison was led by Albers who posted two shots, while Zamora, Herard, and Ethan Miracle added one shot each.

Brown tallied four saves in 90 minutes of action for DU while John Carroll's Connor Robinson added two saves in a full match effort.

The Big Red return to action on Saturday, Sept. 21 when they travel to Alliance, Ohio for a 7 p.m. matchup with the Purple Raiders of Mount Union.