Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
1 Denison
2 at Juniata
in Huntingdon, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
10 Denison
0 at Penn St.-Altoona
in Altoona, Pa.
Thu Sep 05
Final
1 Marietta
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 07
Final
2 Denison
1 at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed Sep 11
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at #13 Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Sat Sep 14
Final
1 #4 John Carroll
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Denison
1 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
0 Denison
3 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Big Red Weekend
Sat Oct 05
Final
3 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat Oct 12
Final
1 Denison
3 at #9 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Oct 16
Final
2 Denison
0 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 DePauw
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 22
7:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Oct 30
7:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
3:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison suffers 1-0 loss at Mount Union

Matt Rush  |  Photo by Bryce Stricker
Matt Rush | Photo by Bryce Stricker

ALLIANCE, Ohio – Ryland Wikle broke the scoreless tie in the 59th minute as Denison men's soccer fell to the University of Mount Union 1-0 on Saturday evening in Alliance.

Despite the Big Red's 3-2 shot advantage in the first half, the Purple Raiders came out firing in the second half and outshot DU 14-4 for the remainder of the night.

After both sides combined for five shots during the first 45 minutes of play, a shot from Denison's Jackson Briggs opened the second half, but 11 consecutive shots followed for Mount Union, including a goal from Ryland Wikle at 58:03 to give the Purple Raiders a 1-0 lead.

Briggs and fellow freshman Tony Buechly attempted to respond in the 74th & 75th minutes, but each of their shots toward the top-right corner of the net was saved by MU's Zach Hlas. Briggs added DU's final shot of the match in the 82nd minute, but another save from Hlas iced the win for Mount Union to send the Big Red to 3-3-1 on the season. The Purple Raiders improved to 6-0-1 overall.

Denison was led by Briggs' three total shots, including two shots on goal. Buechly followed with two shots while Matt Rush and Pierre de la Croix-Vaubois each posted one shot each. Mount Union's Wikle led the match with five shots and a goal. Josh Lewis and Jon Schroeder finished second on the team with three shots apiece.

Hlas earned the victory in goal for MU with three saves in 90 minutes of action while Dylan Brown also added three saves in a full match effort.

Denison remains on the road next Wednesday, Sept. 25 when they travel to Westerville, Ohio for a 7 p.m. matchup with the Cardinals of Otterbein University.