Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 28
9th Annual Alumni & Family Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 18
5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic 2nd Place
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
10 a.m. | 5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic 2nd Place
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
10 a.m. | 1 p.m.
at Cincinnati L, 227-72
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Fri Nov 01
6 p.m.
at Kenyon L, 167.5-132.5
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
1 p.m.
Xavier W, 154-108
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
6 p.m.
at Ohio State L, 215-78
in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
5 p.m.
Denison Invitational
LCM Time Trials in Granville, Ohio
Thu Dec 05
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Dec 06
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Jan 17
4 p.m.
at Pittsburgh
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 18
1 p.m.
at Calvin
@ Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Jan 24
5 p.m.
Indianapolis
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
TBD
Ohio Wesleyan
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 13
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
9:30 a.m. | 6 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
TBD
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
TBD
at NCAA Diving Regional
Sat Feb 29
TBD
at NCAA Diving Regional
Wed Mar 18
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Thu Mar 19
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Fri Mar 20
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
Sat Mar 21
6 p.m.
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Greensboro, N.C.
No Event
View Full Schedule

Bearcats get best of Big Red men

Mitch Williams  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Mitch Williams | Photo by Craig Hicks

CINCINNATI, Ohio – Denison men's swimming and diving fell to the University of Cincinnati by a final of 227-72 on Saturday afternoon at the Keating Aquatic Center.

The Big Red logged 13, top-three finishes on Saturday, including four, second-place finishes. Denison's first of the day came in the 200 butterfly when senior Mitch Williams clocked in at 1:52.49 to finish second overall. Junior John Stauffer followed in third place at 1:54.10. The combo also finished top-five in the 400 IM with Stauffer taking fourth place (4:08.26) and Williams rounding out in fifth (4:11.03).

In the 200 backstroke, Bebe Wang logged a second-place finish at 1:51.98 with Sam Jo earning a spot in third place at 1:53.87. Sophomore Noah Houskeeper also claimed second place for DU in the 100 fly after logging a final time of 50.99. Fellow sophomore Ethan Bevill finished fourth overall at 51.65.

In the final event of the day, the quartet of Drake Horton, Trey Ike, Eric Gerlach, and Liam Picozzi rounded out Denison's second-place finishes in the 200 free relay on a final mark of 1:25.03. Ike and Horton also teamed up with Richie Kurlich and Matt McHugh in the 200 medley relay to take third overall at 1:34.78.

In the second event of the day, Dayen Wilson paced the Big Red in the 1,000 freestyle in third place after logging a 9:47.18. James Baker trailed by less than four seconds in fourth place at 9:51.01. Baker also took third place in the 500 free after clocking in at 4:47.99 while Lukas Gately followed in fifth (4:51.14).

Kurlich finished his day with a trio of top-threes, including third place in the 100 (58.43) and 200 (2:06.34) breaststroke. Fellow sophomore Piotr Kurleto followed in both events, taking fourth in the 200 (2:12.95) and fifth in the 100 (1:00.34).

Ike also placed third overall in the 50 freestyle after logging a final time of 21.67. Kyle Verstandig followed by .05 seconds in fourth place (21.72). Horton claimed a pair of top-five finishes in the 100 (5th - 47.55) and 200 (4th - 1:43.77) free with PJ Desmet taking fourth in the 100 (47.52).

In the diving events, Brendan Downey led DU in the three-meter dive in third place with a total score of 233.55. In the one-meter, Liam Simmons finished in fourth at 213.40 and Downey took fifth (189.15).

The Big Red will return to the pool next Friday, Nov. 1 when they travel to NCAC-rival Kenyon College for a 6 p.m. start.