Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Mar 21
Final
1 Hobart
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
1 Hope
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
0 Wooster
9 #28 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
2 #29 Denison
7 at #9 Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 at #19 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Mo. Baptist
in Creve Coeur, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 vs. #10 Washington (Mo.)
@ Kings Point Sports Club in Belleville, Ill.
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
7 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
Final
9 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Final
0 Wooster
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. NCAC Tournament in Indianapolis
Sat Apr 28
Final
5 Denison
1 vs. Oberlin
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
Final
2 #28 Denison
5 vs. #13 Kenyon
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind. - NCAC Championship
View Full Schedule

DU blows by Bishops, 7-2

Mitchell Thai  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Mitchell Thai | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Following back-to-back wins for the Big Red, Denison men's tennis extended their winning streak to three after they handed a 7-2 defeat to the Battling Bishops of Ohio Wesleyan on Wednesday evening at Mitchell Fieldhouse.

The evening began with a pair of wins on the doubles courts, headlined by DU's No. 1 combo of Kevin Brown and Jamie McDonald claiming an 8-6 victory over OWU's Diego Venegas Vargas and Jack Hibbard.

The Bishops' Shouta Fukamachi and Jakraraj Rungaseng took an 8-5 win over Mitchell Thai and Patrick McGuigan in No. 2 doubles, but the Big Red added a win in No. 3 play with Blake Burstein and Danish Siddiquie defeating Alex Lutz and Jacob Volbers, 8-2.

After freshman Vlad Rotnov lost to OWU' Fukamachi 1-6, 6-2, 6-2 in No. 1 singles, the Big Red rallied to win the five remaining singles matches. Led by 6-1, 6-1 wins by Brown over Elliot Garwood and McGuigan past Pako Alevizopoulos, Denison also won No. 2 singles with Thai handing a 6-3, 6-4 loss to Venegas Vargas, and McDonald sweeping Hibbard in the first set of No. 3 play, 6-0, and then winning the match in the final set, 6-3.

In the final match of the night, DU's Jacob Dennen took down Felipe Duarte, 6-1, 6-2.

The Big Red will return to action on Monday, March 19 when they start their spring break with a match against Babson College in Orlando, Fla. Start time is still to be determined.