Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Mar 07
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 21
Final
1 Hobart
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
1 Hope
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
0 Wooster
9 #28 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
2 #29 Denison
7 at #9 Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 at #19 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Mo. Baptist
in Creve Coeur, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 vs. #10 Washington (Mo.)
@ Kings Point Sports Club in Belleville, Ill.
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
7 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
Final
9 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Final
0 Wooster
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. NCAC Tournament in Indianapolis
Sat Apr 28
Final
5 Denison
1 vs. Oberlin
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
Final
2 #28 Denison
5 vs. #13 Kenyon
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind. - NCAC Championship
View Full Schedule

Denison secures 8-1 victory over Hobart

Blake Burstein  |  Photo by Jason Miller
Blake Burstein | Photo by Jason Miller

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Following a rain-out the last two days with Babson College, Denison men's tennis recorded the first win of their Florida trip on Wednesday afternoon, defeating Hobart College, 8-1, at the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla.

Opening competition on the Team USA doubles courts, the Big Red's No. 1 pairing of Kevin Brown and Jamie McDonald handed an 8-3 defeat to Jonah Salita and Alan Dubrovsky. The Statesmen garnered their lone victory of the night in No. 2 doubles when Walker Anderson and Jonathan Atwater defeated Mitchell Thai and Vlad Rotnov, 8-6, but DU came back on the No. 3 court when Blake Burstein and Patrick McGuigan posted a dominant 8-1 win over Joe Mallon and Colin Molloy.

In a sweeping singles play performance, the Big Red kick-started the success in No. 1 action when Rotnov won the tie-breaker over Salita in the first set, 7-6 (8-6), and then went undefeated in the second set to win the match, 7-6 (8-6), 6-0.

Thai also performed blemish-free in the second set of No. 2 singles, defeating Dubrovsky, 6-4, 6-0, while McDonald tallied consecutive 6-2 set wins over Atwater on the third court.

Brown improved to 5-0 in No. 4 singles on the season after he handed a 6-1, 6-2 defeat to Hobart's Anderson, and Danish Siddiquie earned his first dual victory of the season in No. 5 singles with a 6-3, 6-3 win against David Reinharz. Freshman Jacob Dennen rounded out the team win with a 6-2, 6-2 victory over Mallon in No. 6 singles.

The team victory moved Denison to 4-1 on the season in dual match play, including a winning streak of four matches that started back on Feb. 23 against Allegheny College. 

The Big Red will return to the Team USA Courts on Thursday, March 22 at 11:30 a.m. for a matchup with the Flying Dutch of Hope College.