Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Feb 03
Final
1 Denison
6 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
Final
8 #3 Chicago
1 vs. #27 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
Final
3 Rhodes
6 vs. #27 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
Final
8 Denison
1 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
Final
6 #25 Denison
3 at #24 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
Final
7 #25 Denison
2 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
Final
1 #24 Denison
8 vs. #22 Tufts
@ Biszantz Tennis Center in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 19
Final
4 #24 Denison
5 vs. #12 Sewanee
@ Biszantz Tennis Center in Claremont, Calif.
Thu Mar 21
Cancelled
#24 Denison
vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Cerritos College in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 22
Final
1 Babson
8 vs. #24 Denison
@ Biszantz Tennis Center in Claremont, Calif.
Sat Mar 30
Final
7 #26 Denison
2 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Apr 03
Final
8 #12 Kenyon
1 vs. #26 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
Final
2 Oberlin
7 vs. #26 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 10
Final
9 #26 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 12
Final
1 Wabash
8 vs. #24 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
Final
0 DePauw
9 vs. #24 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 21
Final
6 #15 Carnegie Mellon
3 vs. #24 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
Final
1 Wittenberg
5 vs. #25 Denison
@ North Central H.S. (Indianapolis, IN) in Indianapolis, Ind. - NCAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 27
Final
1 DePauw
5 vs. #25 Denison
@ North Central High School; Indianapolis, Ind. NCAC Championship Semifinal
Sun Apr 28
Final
1 #25 Denison
6 vs. #11 Kenyon
@ North Central H.S. - Indianapolis, IN in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Big Red fall to Lords in NCAC final

Jamie McDonald  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Jamie McDonald | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Denison's run through the NCAC Championship came to an end on Sunday afternoon as the Big Red fell to No. 1 seed Kenyon College, 5-2, at the Wynne Tennis Center in Indianapolis, Ind. to finish as the North Coast Athletic Conference runner-up.

In doubles play, both sides looked to be evenly matched from the start with each win coming by a margin of two games or less. In No. 1 doubles, the Lords took the first match when Weston Noall and Alex Rieger defeated DU's top-flight pairing of Kevin Brown and Blake Burstein, 8-6. KC also won No. 2 doubles when Austin Diehl and Jacob Zalenski edged Mitchell Thai and Jamie McDonald in a 9-8 (9-7) tiebreaker.

The same score followed in No. 3 play, but this time it worked in favor of the Big Red as Vlad Rotnov and Brian Weisberg defeated Michael Liu and Nicholas Paolucci, 9-8 (9-7), to trail the Lords by one match, 2-1, entering the singles competition.

On the singles courts, Rotnov fell to Kenyon's Zalenski, 6-3, 6-1, in top-flight play, but Patrick McGuigan cut the Denison deficit back to one, 3-2 when he posted a 6-2, 6-3 win over Bryan Yoshino on the No. 5 court.

After Thai dropped a 6-4, 6-3 match to Paolucci in No. 3 singles, McDonald took the first set in No. 2 singles from Diehl, 6-4, but Kenyon countered in the final two sets for the 4-6, 6-2, 6-0 victory.

Currently ranked No. 28 in the country, the Big Red will end their season at 13-5 overall in dual play. Their 13 wins are the most since 2016 when they finished the year at 13-7.