Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 01
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
at Dave Lehman Open
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 26
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Fighting Scots Invitational 3rd Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
12 p.m. / 2 p.m.
Bob Shannon Invitational 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
11 a.m.
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 03
12:30 p.m.
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
11 a.m.
at Noke Elite Meet 3rd Place
in Salem, Va.
Sat Feb 16
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Kenyon Classic 7th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 16
10:00 am
at Kent State Tune-Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 22
5 p.m. / 7 p.m.
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 23
1 p.m.
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Feb 24
1:15 p.m.
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 01
12 p.m. / 4 p.m.
at NCAC Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
10 a.m. / 2:15 p.m.
at NCAC Championship 6th Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Mar 15
10 a.m. / 3:45 p.m.
at Washington & Lee Carnival
in Lexington, Va.
Sat Mar 16
11 a.m. / 11:50 a.m.
at Washington & Lee Carnival
in Lexington, Va.
Sat Mar 16
11 a.m.
at Muskie Duals
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Mar 30
10 a.m. / 11 a.m.
at Hilltop Classic 3rd Place
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational 4th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 10
3:30 p.m.
Denison-Wooster Dual Meet 1st Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
10 a.m.
at All-Ohio Championship 6th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10 a.m. / 12 p.m.
at Kenyon Spring Invitational 3rd Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
10 a.m.
at Kentucky Outdoor Open
in Lexington, Ky. (UK Outdoor Track & Field Complex)
Fri Apr 26
1:30 p.m. / 6 p.m.
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
8:10 p.m.
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio (Jesse Owens Stadium)
Sat Apr 27
12 p.m.
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 03
12 p.m. / 3 p.m.
at NCAC Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat May 04
10 a.m. / 2:15 p.m.
at NCAC Championship 6th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri May 10
4 p.m.
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 15
11 a.m. / 6 p.m.
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 16
1 p.m. / 3:30 p.m.
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
View Full Schedule

Men’s Track & Field earns fourth-place finish at OWU

Bryce Stricker  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Bryce Stricker | Photo by Brett Dunbar

DELAWARE, Ohio – Denison men's track and field landed nine, top-five finishes on Saturday afternoon as they placed fourth overall at the 2019 Marv Frye Invitational held at Ohio Wesleyan University. Totaling 78 team points for the weekend, the Big Red edged out fifth-place Albion by two points (76) and fell short of Thomas More in third place with 112 points. Case Western garnered the team title with 121 points.

The weekend was headlined by a pair of first place finishes in the field events, led by freshman Esteban Sainz winning the javelin event with a throw of 160'8" (48.97 meters), the first recorded throw of his collegiate career. The winning mark also launched him into Denison's top-10 list of personal records where he currently ranks eighth overall. Ryan Fleming followed with a third-place finish on a toss of 136'9" (41.70 meters).

Also earning an individual victory was Bryce Stricker in the hammer throw where the junior reached a first-place distance of 159'7" (48.66 meters). Austin McManus landed in seventh place at 138'9" (42.31 meters), while Grant Balogh finished 11th overall with a PR distance of 123'3" (37.58 meters).

The Stricker/McManus combo also competed in the shot put and discus events where Stricker led the charge in the shot put in ninth place on a distance of 40'7.50" (12.38 meters) and McManus followed in 10th at 37'9.25" (11.51 meters). In the discus, McManus finished in 14th (114'11") and Stricker placed 17th (97'4").

Collecting top-10 finishes the rest of the way in the field events, Fleming led DU in the high jump on a leap of 6'2" (1.88 meters) to place second. James Dixie placed fourth in the triple jump at 41'4.25" (12.60 meters) and Alex Chin finished sixth overall in the long jump (19'11.75"). Blake Brown rounded out the field performances with an eighth-place finish in the pole vault at 10' (3.05 meters).

On the track, Jack Ruddy and Adam Cromwell picked up a pair of second-place finishes with Ruddy taking second in the 400-meter hurdles after clocking in at 57.59 and Cromwell doing the same in the 5,000-meter run with a time of 15:41.12.

Jack Marchetti followed in the 5k at 15:57.28 in eighth place, while Clayton Watters landed in 16th (16:45.76) and Keanan Ginell placed 20th (17:14.57).

In the 110 meter hurdles, Dixie logged a fifth-place finish at 17:03. Niall Clancey also landed in fifth in the 800-meter run where he clocked in at 1:57.48. Ben Foster followed in sixth at 1:57.59. Clancey and Foster then joined Ruddy and Sam Bloodworth in the 4X400 meter relay to finish in sixth at 3:30.17.

The Big Red will return to action on Wednesday, April 10 when they host the College of Wooster for a traditional dual meet at 2 p.m. in Piper Stadium.