Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Nov 10
Final
52 Denison
76 at #9 Trine
in Angola, Ind.
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
6:00 PM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
1:00 PM
Emory
vs. Denison
@ Transylvania in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
6:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
5:00 PM
La Roche
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
5:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
7:00 PM
Denison
at Miami-Middletown
in Middletown, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
6:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Holmes garners national honor

Jordan Holmes

The honors continue to roll in for Jordan Holmes.  After earning her third North Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Week honor of the season on Monday, she was named the United States Basketball Writers Association National Player of the Week on Tuesday, Jan. 5.

Holmes was selected for these honors after averaging a double-double in three games last week while helping DU to a 3-0 record.

Holmes opened the week with her fifth-career triple-double, setting a new Division III record, in a 97-81 win over North Central at Otterbein's Smokey Ballenger Classic. The 6-foot-1 junior needed just one half of basketball to break a three-way tie for the national career record, eventually finishing the contest with 19 points, 21 rebounds and a conference-record 14 blocks. The 21 boards marked her fifth game with 20 or more rebounds this season.

The following day against the host Cardinals, Holmes became the fifth player in NCAC history to record 1,000-career rebounds. The Pittsburgh Pa. native reached that milestone with 55 seconds left in the game. In the conference victory at Wooster, Holmes posted her 10th double-double of the season with a 17-point, 16-rebound effort. She also blocked seven shots, which moved her into seventh place on the Division III career list.

In three games last week, Holmes averaged 17.3 points, 16.3 rebounds and 8.7 blocks per game. She is just four rejections away from becoming the sixth player in Division III history to record 400 blocks in a career. Holmes is also 200 rebounds shy of the NCAC record currently held by former Ohio Wesleyan standout Jill Myers (1,217 – 1984-88).

Holmes currently leads the nation in blocked shots (87), defensive rebounds per game (14), total rebounds (233) and total rebounds per game (17.9). She is also second in Division III in blocks per game (6.69), double-doubles (10) and triple-doubles (2), and ranks fourth in field-goal percentage (69.5 percent). Holmes trails only Emily Lavin of Eastern (6.80) in the blocks per game category and is just one double-double behind Olivia Murphy of UMass Boston (11).

The Big Red (10-3, 3-1 NCAC) returns to action on Wednesday (Jan. 6) when they travel to Greencastle, Ind. to take on DePauw University. Tipoff from the Neal Fieldhouse is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.

Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
February 23, 2016 Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
December 8, 2015 Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
Holmes garners D3Hoops honor
November 30, 2015 Holmes garners D3Hoops honor
Holmes is named NCAC POW
November 17, 2015 Holmes is named NCAC POW
Denison tops Case in opener
November 13, 2015 Denison tops Case in opener