Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
TBA
Denison
at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
TBA
Denison
vs. TBD
@ Wilmington in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
6:00 PM
John Carroll
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
5:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Marietta holds off Big Red, 92-87

Alison Schafer  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alison Schafer | Photo by Jace Delgado

MARIETTA, Ohio--  Despite a career-high 20 point effort from Lauren Longbrake, Denison suffered a 92-87 loss to Marietta on Saturday night at Ban Johnson Arena.  With the win the Pioneers improve to 3-0 while the Big Red drops to 3-2.

Denison trailed 68-58 heading into the fourth quarter.  One minute into the period, Addie Buzas' 3-pointer cut the deficit in half.  With seven minutes left, Alison Schafer drilled a 3-pointer to make it 72-69.  DU kept battling and Longbreak's three-point play with 6:32 left made it a two-point game with 6:30 remaining.

The Pioneers countered with a 7-0 run powered by two triples from Shay Lett and a free throw by Amisha Herd.

Schafer remained red-hot from long range, connecting on two more treys.  The latter got DU back to within two possessions at 86-80 with 2:46 to play.  A jumper by Valesha Province with just under a minute to play made it a four point game.  DU had a chance to make it a one possession game but a turnover gave the ball back to Marietta.  Forced to foul, the Pioneers made 3-of-4 free throws down the stretch to lock up the victory.

Longbrake led all scorers with 20 points on 8-of-12 shooting in 13 minutes off the bench.  Schafer followed with 17 points and Buzas chipped in 14 points.  Lauren Hofer and Province each scored 11 to round out the scoring leaders for DU.

For Marietta, Brooke Borich scored 17 points and Corrie Burkhardt chipped in eight points and 12 rebounds.

Denison will play Carnegie Mellon on Sunday, Nov. 26 at 1 p.m. in Marietta, Ohio.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine