Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
TBA
Denison
at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
TBA
Denison
vs. TBD
@ Wilmington in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
6:00 PM
John Carroll
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
5:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Women’s Basketball holds on to defeat Mount Union

Aliyah Hunter  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Aliyah Hunter | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Thanks to a game-high 18 points from sophomore Addie Buzas, Denison women's basketball held off Mount Union's fourth-quarter comeback to defeat the Purple Raiders, 63-61, on Wednesday evening at Livingston Gymnasium.

With the Big Red holding a 52-43 lead early on in the fourth quarter, Mount Union's Bailee Kuhn connected on a pair of free throws with 9:21 remaining. The Purple Raiders cut their deficit to 52-48 just one possession later as Tori Rappach buried a shot from the perimeter.

Totaling five of her nine points in the final quarter, junior Valesha Province recorded her first 3-pointer of the night to go up 59-52 with only 5:34 remaining. Mount Union countered just 32 seconds later when Elena Rauhe buried a three, and after a Denison turnover, a jumper from Sarah Hessel made it a two-point game, 59-57.

Leading 61-59 with 3:20 to play, DU forced back-to-back missed shots from the Purple Raiders and a foul from Rappach sent Buzas to the charity stripe. Buzas connected on the second of her two attempts to take a 62-59 lead at the 1:51 mark. One minute later, Mount Union's Rauhe tallied both of her free throws to make it a one-point game, 62-61.

With 24 seconds to play, sophomore Aliyah Hunter missed a jump shot for the Big Red, but consecutive fouls followed for the Purple Raiders and sent Buzas back to the line. She made the first of her two attempts and gave Denison a 63-61 lead with just 19 seconds to go.

On the final possession, Mount Union's Rachel Tinkey missed a jumper to tie it, and off the offensive board, Tinkey couldn't connect on a three to win it with two seconds remaining as the Big Red secured their fourth win of the season.

Denison won the turnover battle, 15-11, and held the Purple Raiders to 34 percent from the field, including 4-of-19 in the opening quarter. Buzas added eight rebounds to her 18-point effort, while Alison Schafer posted 12 points and Lauren Hofer tallied 11 points.

Mount Union was led by Kuhn's 13 points and 10 rebounds, while Rauhe and Rappach combined for 19 points off the bench.

The Big Red will hit the road this coming Saturday, Dec. 2 as they travel to Gambier, Ohio to take on Kenyon College at 1 p.m.

 

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine