Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
8:00 PM
Anderson (Ind.)
vs. Denison
@ Wimington College - Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Classic in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
TBA
Denison
vs. TBD
@ Wilmington in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
6:00 PM
John Carroll
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
7:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
7:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Women’s Basketball flies past Fighting Scots

Lauren Longbrake  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Lauren Longbrake | Photo by Jace Delgado

WOOSTER, Ohio -- Thanks to a career-high 23 points from sophomore Addie Buzas, the Big Red snapped a three-game losing skid on Saturday afternoon when they defeated the College of Wooster, 72-49, at Timken Gymnasium.

Denison built their momentum in the first quarter after going 10-for-19 from the field and opening the game on a 14-2 scoring run led by seven consecutive points from senior Brittany Atkinson.

Taking a 24-7 lead into the second quarter, Lauren Longbrake connected at the rim just 42 seconds into the period. She followed her bucket with back-to-back baskets for the Big Red to take a 30-9 lead with 7:57 remaining in the first half. Alongside Longbrake, junior Isabella Luaces helped the DU reserves combine for 12 of the team's 19-second-quarter points to give Denison a 43-21 advantage at intermission.

The Big Red entered the second half with a commanding 50-26 lead after Buzas tallied one of her game-high six three-pointers with 7:25 to play in the third quarter. Wooster countered the Denison advantage with an 11-2 run that saw five different Fighting Scots finish from the field to cut their deficit to 52-37 with just under three minutes to play in the third.

After DU carried a 58-37 lead into the final frame, baskets from Lauren Hofer and Lucy Bancone allowed the Big Red to outscore Wooster 11-8 to end the game and earn their first win in conference play.

Denison outrebounded the Fighting Scots 54-40 on the day and held the opposition to seven-percent from behind the arc. Buzas' led the contest with 23 points and added five rebounds. Atkinson matched a season-best with 16 points, while Longbrake fell one rebound shy of a double-double with 10 points and nine boards.

Wooster was paced by a 10-point and 11-rebound performance from Maria Janasko, while Kylie Orr and Anna Gibbs chipped in six points each.

The Big Red will return to action on Friday, Dec. 29 when they travel to Bexley, Ohio to take part in the 2017 Capital University/Marriott Christmas Tournament. Denison will take on the tournament host Capital Crusaders at 7 p.m.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine