Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
8:00 PM
Anderson (Ind.)
vs. Denison
@ Wimington College - Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Classic in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
TBA
Denison
vs. TBD
@ Wilmington in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
6:00 PM
John Carroll
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
7:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
7:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red break away from Bishops to open 2018

Lauren Longbreak |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Lauren Longbreak | Photo by Craig Hicks

DELAWARE, Ohio – Led by Lauren Hofer's career-high 17 points, Denison women's basketball traveled to Delaware, Ohio on Wednesday evening and defeated Ohio Wesleyan University, 63-55, at Branch Rickey Arena.

The Big Red took advantage of a first half where they held the Bishops to 11-percent from three-point territory and converted 9-of-11 from the charity stripe. Holding an 18-17 lead with 6:54 remaining in the second quarter, Denison's Lauren Longbrake totaled three consecutive points before a three from junior Valesha Province put DU up 24-17 at the 5:31 mark.

Finishing the quarter on a 17-7 scoring run, the Big Red tallied the final two buckets of the half, including a layup from Lucy Bancone with five seconds remaining to take a 35-24 advantage into intermission.

Leading the Bishops 40-30 with 6:21 remaining in the third, Denison lengthened their lead with a jumper from Shonta Lockett and a three from senior Brittany Atkinson. The Big Red finished the quarter with a 12-6 scoring run, all of which came from points off the bench, including a bucket from Longbrake to a 52-36 lead into the final frame.

Ohio Wesleyan made one final push as Claire Sterling buried back-to-back layups to only trail DU 60-50 with 1:24 remaining in the game. OWU followed with another triple from Tia Karras, but the Big Red connected on three of their final four free throws to secure their first win of the New Year.

Hofer added four rebounds to her 17-point effort, and Longbrake totaled 13 points and four boards. Atkinson went a perfect 4-for-4 from the charity stripe as she finished with 10 points.

Tia Karras led the way for OWU with 16 points and two assists, while Sterling finished with a double-double on 10 points and 14 rebounds. Morgan King also chipped in 12 tallies.

DU will stay on the road this Saturday, Jan. 6 when they travel to Meadville, Pa. to take on Allegheny College at 1 p.m.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine