Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 10
Final
52 Denison
76 at #9 Trine
in Angola, Ind.
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
91 Case Western Reserve
84 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
Final
57 Denison
69 vs. Emory
@ Lexington, Ky. in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
Final
45 Denison
55 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
56 Denison
69 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
Final
50 Hiram
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
Final
73 Denison
50 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
Final
53 Denison
63 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
Final
62 La Roche
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
Final
60 Denison
45 at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
Final
46 Kenyon
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
Final
43 Ohio Wesleyan
60 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
Final
78 #19 DePauw
29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
Final
76 Denison
55 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
Final
66 Denison
53 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
Final - 2OT
76 Wittenberg
78 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
Final
66 Denison
57 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
Cancelled
Denison
at Miami-Middletown
in Middletown, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Final
47 Oberlin
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
Final
65 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Allegheny
66 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
Final
50 Denison
58 at #19 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red break away from Bishops to open 2018

Lauren Longbreak |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Lauren Longbreak | Photo by Craig Hicks

DELAWARE, Ohio – Led by Lauren Hofer's career-high 17 points, Denison women's basketball traveled to Delaware, Ohio on Wednesday evening and defeated Ohio Wesleyan University, 63-55, at Branch Rickey Arena.

The Big Red took advantage of a first half where they held the Bishops to 11-percent from three-point territory and converted 9-of-11 from the charity stripe. Holding an 18-17 lead with 6:54 remaining in the second quarter, Denison's Lauren Longbrake totaled three consecutive points before a three from junior Valesha Province put DU up 24-17 at the 5:31 mark.

Finishing the quarter on a 17-7 scoring run, the Big Red tallied the final two buckets of the half, including a layup from Lucy Bancone with five seconds remaining to take a 35-24 advantage into intermission.

Leading the Bishops 40-30 with 6:21 remaining in the third, Denison lengthened their lead with a jumper from Shonta Lockett and a three from senior Brittany Atkinson. The Big Red finished the quarter with a 12-6 scoring run, all of which came from points off the bench, including a bucket from Longbrake to a 52-36 lead into the final frame.

Ohio Wesleyan made one final push as Claire Sterling buried back-to-back layups to only trail DU 60-50 with 1:24 remaining in the game. OWU followed with another triple from Tia Karras, but the Big Red connected on three of their final four free throws to secure their first win of the New Year.

Hofer added four rebounds to her 17-point effort, and Longbrake totaled 13 points and four boards. Atkinson went a perfect 4-for-4 from the charity stripe as she finished with 10 points.

Tia Karras led the way for OWU with 16 points and two assists, while Sterling finished with a double-double on 10 points and 14 rebounds. Morgan King also chipped in 12 tallies.

DU will stay on the road this Saturday, Jan. 6 when they travel to Meadville, Pa. to take on Allegheny College at 1 p.m.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine