Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
TBA
Denison
at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
TBA
Denison
vs. TBD
@ Wilmington in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
6:00 PM
John Carroll
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
7:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
5:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big first quarter sends #9 DePauw past Big Red

Lauren Hofer  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Lauren Hofer | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  It was a rematch of the 2017 North Coast Athletic Conference Championship and for three quarters it resembled last year's rough-and-tumble title game that was won by DePauw by six points.  Unfortunately for Denison, a lopsided first quarter allowed the ninth-ranked Tigers jump out to a 20-3 lead.  Denison outscored DePauw 45-42 over the final 30 minutes, but the Tigers still managed to leave Livingston Gymnasium with a 62-48 win.

Entering the second quarter trailing by 17, the Big Red could have easily rolled over and lived to fight another day.  Instead, they adapted to DePauw's pace and turned the tables, matching the Tigers defensive intensity to outscore their opponents 19-14 in the second quarter.  Denison committed only one turnover in the second quarter and got scoring from six different players.

In the third, Denison turned in potentially its most impressive 10 minutes of the season outscoring DePauw 16-9 powered by 14 combined points by reserves Brittany Atkinson and Lauren Longbrake.

DU's frenetic third quarter was capped off by an Atkinson buzzer-beater.

In the fourth quarter, Denison's Lauren Hofer connected on a jumper off a nice feed from Longbrake to cut the deficit to 56-46 with 1:35 to play.  Forced to foul, DePauw went 6-for-8 down the stretch at the free throw line to stifle the Big Red's thoughts of an upset.

Atkinson led Denison with 15 points on 5-of-12 shooting.  Longbrake scored 13 points and had four rebounds in 19 minutes off the bench.  Denison's bench outscored DePauw 34-8.

Maya Howard paced the Tigers with 20 points on 9-of-18 shooting.  Melinda Franke added 10 points and 13 rebounds.  DePauw won the rebounding battle 43-27 while shooting 46 percent from the floor.  Denison shot 35 percent from the floor but struggled from long range, going 2-for-14.

DePauw improves to 15-1 and 7-0 in the NCAC while Denison drops to 8-8 and 3-4 in conference play. The Big Red will return to action on Wednesday (Jan. 17) when they travel to Hiram for a 7:30 p.m. tipoff against the Terriers.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine