Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 10
Final
52 Denison
76 at #9 Trine
in Angola, Ind.
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
91 Case Western Reserve
84 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
Final
57 Denison
69 vs. Emory
@ Lexington, Ky. in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
Final
45 Denison
55 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
56 Denison
69 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
Final
50 Hiram
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
Final
73 Denison
50 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
Final
53 Denison
63 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
Final
62 La Roche
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
Final
60 Denison
45 at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
Final
46 Kenyon
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
Final
43 Ohio Wesleyan
60 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
Final
78 #19 DePauw
29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
Final
76 Denison
55 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
Final
66 Denison
53 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
Final - 2OT
76 Wittenberg
78 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
Final
66 Denison
57 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
Cancelled
Denison
at Miami-Middletown
in Middletown, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Final
47 Oberlin
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
Final
65 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Allegheny
66 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
Final
50 Denison
58 at #19 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

DU knocks off Wooster for second-straight win

Lauren Longbrake  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Lauren Longbrake | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio—Denison won its second-straight game and improved to 10-12 on the season after a 63-52 victory over the College of Wooster on Saturday at Livingston Gymnasium.

The Fighting Scots led 13-11 after one quarter but Denison responded in the second, outscoring Wooster 26-6 in the period while shooting 60 percent.

Turnovers plagued Wooster in the second quarter.  Their seven miscues resulted in 12 of Denison's 26 points in the quarter.  Over a six-minute span, the Big Red put together a 17-0 run to take a 16-point lead.  During the run, Valesha Province and Alison Schafer knocked down 3-pointers and Lauren Longbrake scored eight points.

Denison extended its lead to 21 at the end of the third quarter.  In the fourth, Wooster chipped away at the lead but the closest they came was 11 when the final horn sounded.

Schafer led all scorers with 18 points on 5-of-11 shooting.  She was 4-for-9 from beyond the arc while also added five rebounds and three assists.

Brittany Atkinson followed with 14 points while going 4-of-8 from the field and Longbrake added 12 points and seven rebounds in 19 minutes off the bench.  Also chipping in a solid all-around game was Lauren Hofer who tallied eight points, seven rebounds, and four assists in only 21 minutes of action.  Shonta Lockett led the team in assists with five.

As a team, Denison shot 39 percent from the field and was 87 percent from the charity stripe (13-of-15). Wooster shot 33 percent from the floor and was just 3-of-20 from long range.  Kylie Orr led the Fighting Scots in scoring with 13 points.

Denison moves to 5-8 in the North Coast Athletic Conference while Wooster drops to 2-10 in league play.  The Big Red returns to action on Wednesday, Feb. 7 when they travel to seventh-ranked DePauw for an 8 p.m. tipoff.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine