Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
91 Case Western Reserve
84 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
Final
57 Denison
69 vs. Emory
@ Lexington, Ky. in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
Final
45 Denison
55 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
56 Denison
69 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
Final
50 Hiram
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
Final
73 Denison
50 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
Final
53 Denison
63 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
Final
62 La Roche
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
Final
60 Denison
45 at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
Final
46 Kenyon
55 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
Final
43 Ohio Wesleyan
60 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
Final
78 #19 DePauw
29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
Final
76 Denison
55 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
Final
66 Denison
53 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
Final - 2OT
76 Wittenberg
78 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
Final
66 Denison
57 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Final
47 Oberlin
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
Final
65 Wooster
75 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
Final
54 Allegheny
66 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
Final
50 Denison
58 at #19 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
Final
61 Denison
50 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Tue Feb 19
Final
53 Hiram
82 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Fri Feb 22
Final
59 Ohio Wesleyan
68 vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind. in Greencastle, Ind. - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat Feb 23
4:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
NCAC Tournament Championship
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red fall short in NCAC Quarterfinal at Oberlin

Lauren Hofer  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Lauren Hofer | Photo by Craig Hicks

OBERLIN, Ohio -- Behind Alex Stipano's career-high 30 points, the Yeowomen eliminated the Big Red from the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament quarterfinals on Wednesday night following a 66-52 defeat of Denison at Philips Gymnasium.

Despite seven first-quarter points from sophomore Alison Schafer to give the Big Red a 16-13 lead at the end of the frame, the Yeowomen recorded 10 of the first 12 points in the second quarter to take a 23-18 lead with 2:48 remaining until the half.

At the 2:23 mark, senior Brittany Atkinson countered a Stipano three with a jumper to cut the Denison deficit to three, 23-20, but consecutive buckets from Oberlin's Jasmine Sorrells and Ally Driscoll put the Yeowomen ahead 27-20 entering intermission. DU ended the quarter going 1-for-13 from the field including four turnovers.

To open the second half, DU's Lauren Hofer connected on a pair at the charity stripe before Valesha Province buried a shot from the perimeter to bring Denison within eight, 33-25. However, Olivia Canning kept OC ahead by double digits after she scored 10 of Oberlin's first 11 points of the third to give the Yeowomen a 38-25 advantage less than four minutes into the quarter.

Both sides recorded their best point-totals of the night in the third period (Oberlin 25, Denison 19), but it was three 3-pointers in the third from Stipano that put the Big Red behind 52-39 entering the final frame.

In the fourth, Oberlin totaled 42-percent from the field and held Denison to 4-of-18 shooting to go up by as many as 14 points in the final 10 minutes of play. With 4:14 remaining in the game, Atkinson cashed in from the perimeter, and following a Yeowomen turnover, she logged both of her free throws to cut the DU deficit back to nine, 59-50.

On the next possession, Stipano landed a three-point play off a Denison foul to go back up by double digits and eliminate the Big Red from the NCAC quarterfinals for the first time since 2013 when they lost to Wittenberg University, 69-65, on Feb. 19.

To compliment her 30-point effort, Stipano added five assists and three rebounds on the night. Canning contributed 18 points on 7-of-9 shooting, while Sorrells led the Oberlin bench with five points.

The Big Red were led by Schafer's 17 points, five rebounds and three assists. Atkinson chipped in 15 points, while Province and Lauren Turner chipped in a combined eight points off the bench.

Denison finished their season with an overall record of 12-14, including a 7-9 mark in the conference.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine