Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
8:00 PM
Anderson (Ind.)
vs. Denison
@ Wimington College - Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Classic in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
TBA
Denison
vs. TBD
@ Wilmington in Wilmington, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
6:00 PM
John Carroll
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
7:30 PM
Denison
at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
7:30 PM
Denison
at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Kenyon
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison suffers OT loss to Case Western

Aliyah Hunter  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Aliyah Hunter | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Alyssa Hyland's buzzer-beating three at the end of regulation helped Case Western Reserve hand a 91-84 overtime loss to the Denison Big Red on Tuesday evening at Livingston Gymnasium in Granville.

Despite a 53.8 percent shooting effort from Denison in the fourth, the Spartans stayed close with DU in the final minutes of regulation, trailing the Big Red 73-70 after Alison Schafer and Valesha Province connected on back-to-back layups at 1:27 remaining.

After Lauren Hofer and Province each buried one of their two free throw attempts, Denison carried a 75-72 advantage with two seconds left in the fourth. With the clock set to expire, Alicia Marie Gonzales sent an inbound to Hyland at the top of the key who tallied her third and final three of the night to send it to overtime tied at 75-75.

Case's Hillary Hellmann and DU's Shonta Lockett traded buckets to open extra time, but the Spartans scored 10 of the next 12 points thanks to six points from Hellmann and two free throws each from Mercedes Jones and Gonzales to take an 87-79 lead with less than a minute to play in overtime.

A three-pointer from Aliyah Hunter brought the Big Red within five, 87-82, with 41 seconds remaining, but CWRU's Kara Hageman totaled her final four free throws of the game as Denison suffered their second loss of the season and moved to 2-2 on the year. The Spartans remained undefeated on the season and moved to 3-0.

Province and junior Addie Buzas led Denison with 15 points each while combining for six rebounds and 5-of-12 shooting from the perimeter. Lockett followed with 12 points and seven rebounds, while Hofer and Hunter combined for 21 points and five assists.

Hellmann led all scorers with 27 points on 5-of-9 shooting from three. Hageman added 21 points and eight rebounds.

The Big Red will return to action this Sunday, November 25 when they travel to Lexington, Ky. for the Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament to play Emory University at 1 p.m.