Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 10
Final
52 Denison
76 at #9 Trine
in Angola, Ind.
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
91 Case Western Reserve
84 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
Final
57 Denison
69 vs. Emory
@ Lexington, Ky. in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
Final
45 Denison
55 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
56 Denison
69 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
Final
50 Hiram
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
Final
73 Denison
50 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
Final
53 Denison
63 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
5:00 PM
La Roche
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
5:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
7:00 PM
Denison
at Miami-Middletown
in Middletown, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
6:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Denison suffers OT loss to Case Western

Aliyah Hunter  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Aliyah Hunter | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Alyssa Hyland's buzzer-beating three at the end of regulation helped Case Western Reserve hand a 91-84 overtime loss to the Denison Big Red on Tuesday evening at Livingston Gymnasium in Granville.

Despite a 53.8 percent shooting effort from Denison in the fourth, the Spartans stayed close with DU in the final minutes of regulation, trailing the Big Red 73-70 after Alison Schafer and Valesha Province connected on back-to-back layups at 1:27 remaining.

After Lauren Hofer and Province each buried one of their two free throw attempts, Denison carried a 75-72 advantage with two seconds left in the fourth. With the clock set to expire, Alicia Marie Gonzales sent an inbound to Hyland at the top of the key who tallied her third and final three of the night to send it to overtime tied at 75-75.

Case's Hillary Hellmann and DU's Shonta Lockett traded buckets to open extra time, but the Spartans scored 10 of the next 12 points thanks to six points from Hellmann and two free throws each from Mercedes Jones and Gonzales to take an 87-79 lead with less than a minute to play in overtime.

A three-pointer from Aliyah Hunter brought the Big Red within five, 87-82, with 41 seconds remaining, but CWRU's Kara Hageman totaled her final four free throws of the game as Denison suffered their second loss of the season and moved to 2-2 on the year. The Spartans remained undefeated on the season and moved to 3-0.

Province and junior Addie Buzas led Denison with 15 points each while combining for six rebounds and 5-of-12 shooting from the perimeter. Lockett followed with 12 points and seven rebounds, while Hofer and Hunter combined for 21 points and five assists.

Hellmann led all scorers with 27 points on 5-of-9 shooting from three. Hageman added 21 points and eight rebounds.

The Big Red will return to action this Sunday, November 25 when they travel to Lexington, Ky. for the Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament to play Emory University at 1 p.m.