Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Tue Nov 12
Final
84 Denison
77 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
Final
47 Anderson (Ind.)
71 vs. Denison
@ Wilmington, Ohio (Hermann Court) in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
Final
81 Denison
75 at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio - Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Wed Nov 20
Final
50 John Carroll
67 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
Final
91 Denison
33 at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
Final
53 Denison
62 at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Wittenberg
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
Final
75 Denison
72 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
Final - 3OT
72 Denison
79 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
Final
57 Kenyon
47 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Emory pulls ahead in fourth to defeat Denison

Lucy Bancone  |  Photo by Craig Hicks
Lucy Bancone | Photo by Craig Hicks

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Denison women's basketball suffered a 69-57 loss to Emory University on Sunday afternoon at the Gratz Park Private Wealth Classic hosted by Transylvania University in Lexington, Ky.

Despite 11 first-half points from junior Alison Schafer and a 29-21 advantage with 6:16 remaining in the second quarter, the momentum shifted to the opposition as the Eagles tallied four of their final six shots of the quarter and entered halftime on a 14-5 scoring run highlighted by eight combined points from Erin Lindahl and Allison Chernow. Emory held a 35-34 lead at the break.

After Emory built their lead to 44-39 with 5:21 remaining in the third, the Big Red battled back with back-to-back buckets from Lucy Bancone and Addie Buzas to cut their deficit to 44-43.

Following a free throw from Lauren Hofer that tied the game at 44-44 with 1:20 to play in the period, an Emory foul from Molly Weiss put Valesha Province at the line where she converted on a pair of free throws and put Denison in front, 46-44. Less than a minute later, Chernow buried both of her free throws as the Eagles and Big Red entered the final quarter tied at 46-46.

Tied at 48-48 following a jumper from Lauren Turner at 8:34 remaining, a three-point play from Ashley Oldshue sparked a 10-5 scoring run for the Eagles as they shot 50 percent from the field in the fourth to outscore DU 23-11 in the period and handed the Big Red their third loss of the season. Emory moved to 3-2 with the victory.

Emory's Chernow and Oldshue led the game with 25 points each while combining to go 22-of-26 from the charity stripe, helping the Eagles shoot 75.8 percent from the line on the day.

Schafer's 13 points were a team-high for the Big Red while adding four rebounds and three assists. Province and senior Lucy Bancone followed with nine points each, while Hofer chipped in seven points and seven boards. Addie Buzas led both sides with 10 rebounds.

The Big Red will continue their three-game road trip on Wednesday, November 28 when they travel to Gambier, Ohio for a 6 p.m. tip-off with the Ladies of Kenyon College.